Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
getzjd
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mar 12, 2012 3:10 am
Full Name: Jay
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

Unplanned Failover of Replica

Post by getzjd » Dec 21, 2012 7:54 pm

Looking for information on how to perform an unplanned failover of a replica. Obviously, we have instructions for a planned failover http://www.veeam.com/university/failover.swf .

Scenario:

Site 1 -
Full Veeam 6.1 Enterprise Server - vsphere 5
Exchange server 2010 replicated to Site 2 every 30 minutes. approximately 150 mailboxes

Site 2 -
full Veeam 6.1 Enterprise Server vsphere 5
destination for Exchange replica

10Mbps fiber connection between the two sites about 650 miles distance. Site 1 experiences a fire with no time to initiate a proper failover and drops off the network.

How do we bring up the replica since the email server from site one is not visible in the interface at site 2. Site 2 is simply listed as a proxy.

Thanks!

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16867
Liked: 1429 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Unplanned Failover of Replica

Post by veremin » Dec 21, 2012 8:14 pm

In such scenario, let your VB&R Server in Site 2 be responsible for all "remote" jobs (such as, remote replication). Thus, in disaster situation all functionality (Failover, Failback and etc.) can be performed by VB&R Server in Site 2 itself without any issues.

Also be aware that, it’s strongly recommended in case of remote replication (via WAN connection) to have one proxy server deployed at Production site, and one at DR one.

Hope this helps.
Thanks.

getzjd
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mar 12, 2012 3:10 am
Full Name: Jay
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

Re: Unplanned Failover of Replica

Post by getzjd » Dec 21, 2012 8:19 pm

Are you saying to delete existing replication jobs at site 1 and recreate on site 2 veeam so that Site 1 no longer holds the replica job for the exchange server? Or could I do an import of the job?


Site 1
Veeam Server - no replication job
Exchange server

Site 2
Veeam Server Replication job for Exchange server at site 1
Exchange replica destination

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16867
Liked: 1429 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Unplanned Failover of Replica

Post by veremin » Dec 21, 2012 8:29 pm

In fact, there is no need to import job settings, since you can simply create a new replication job in VB&R Server installed at Site 2 and later put into use replica mapping functionality. And yes, after having taken such actions you may want to delete former replication job managed by VB&R Server in Site 1.

With such option you can easily map an original VM in the production site to an already existing VM in the DR site. For example, this VM can be represented either by replica that has been created previously, or VM restored from the backup file. During the first run, only differences between VMs will be calculated and transferred. These differences later will be used to synchronize the state of VM in DR site and the original one in Production site.

More information about Replica Mapping can be found in your User Guide.

Hope this helps.
Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 33 guests