Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
tjestr
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 05, 2009 9:33 am
Full Name: Falko Dohse
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Upgrade Error

Post by tjestr » Oct 30, 2009 9:48 am

Even the "_u" package is not able to perform the upgrade of serveral jobs.
Here is the error message:

Deleting the whole list of backups
Failed to repair VM "SRV-DEHH-D-025"
Delete backup "SRV-DEHH-D-025" machine was unsuccessful
Undir failed
Client error: There is no patch [SRV-DEHH-D-039-flat.vmdk.patch2].

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25121
Liked: 3683 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Upgrade Error

Post by Gostev » Oct 30, 2009 10:18 am

Falko, looking at the error, this is definitely an unrelated issue. As of now, we have all support cases with the original issue resolved successfully using the patch.

tjestr
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 05, 2009 9:33 am
Full Name: Falko Dohse
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Upgrade Error

Post by tjestr » Oct 30, 2009 10:28 am

Then tell me, what to do. The only thing I've done is to update Veeam from v. 3.1.1 to 4.0 (where errors occured) and then to 4.0u (where still errors occur) and using the vStorage API instead of VCB over SAN. Nothing else has changed in our environment. Currently I'm unable to run 3 backup jobs (in total 40 VM's) . This is a real "showstopper" for us.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25121
Liked: 3683 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Upgrade Error

Post by Gostev » Oct 30, 2009 10:33 am

You should open the case with our support and provide all logs from Help | Support information for investigation. Alternatively, you can just re-create the 3 failing jobs, and then manually delete the old jobs and backup files after your required retention time passes.

tjestr
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 05, 2009 9:33 am
Full Name: Falko Dohse
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Upgrade Error

Post by tjestr » Oct 30, 2009 10:47 am

There already is an open support case (#514689).
The alternative you described leads me to a space problem. It's not possible for me to store a second full backup of the virtual machines.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25121
Liked: 3683 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Upgrade Error

Post by Gostev » Oct 30, 2009 10:54 am

Is it maybe possible to move those 3 backup files to external hard drive to free up some disk space?
I've split the topic to track this issue separately.

tjestr
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 05, 2009 9:33 am
Full Name: Falko Dohse
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Upgrade Error

Post by tjestr » Oct 30, 2009 1:06 pm

unluckily we have no external Hard Drive with a capacity of 2.3TB. :(
I could send the files over the Network to another filer, but this would take ages... (Gbit connection = about 12 hours) The next planned backup is at 22.00CET. We've already missed the last one. :?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests