Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
tomhkr
Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Feb 03, 2014 7:40 am
Contact:

Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Post by tomhkr » Nov 22, 2016 9:52 am

I would like to upgrade my Veeam Backup and Replication server (which also doubles as a Proxy) from Windows Server 2012R2/ VBR 9.0 to Windows 2016 and VBR 9.5
It is a physical machine and thus I cannot build a second machine parallell to it and switch over.

What would be the recommended course of action?

kristofpoppe
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 18, 2012 1:19 pm
Full Name: Kristof Poppe
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Post by kristofpoppe » Nov 22, 2016 10:22 am 1 person likes this post

Hello, if you don't have another machine, this is the way I should work:

- Bring your current Veeam to a version that allows upgrade to 9.5
- Stop all Veeam services and backup jobs
- Inplace upgrade of your 2012 R2 to 2016 (quite straight forward, but depending on specific hardware, drivers, storage,...)
- If you have local backup partitions, temp. copy the data to another location and re-format to ReFS
- Start upgrading to 9.5


Benefit from 9.5 features on ReFS backup storage

mkretzer
Expert
Posts: 400
Liked: 79 times
Joined: Dec 17, 2015 7:17 am
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Post by mkretzer » Nov 22, 2016 10:24 am

Why not first update to 9.5 and then windows? That way it is two steps...

kristofpoppe
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 18, 2012 1:19 pm
Full Name: Kristof Poppe
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Post by kristofpoppe » Nov 22, 2016 10:30 am

It's not clear that an already upgraded 9.5 will see if he's on 2016.

Veeam always remains the previous settings to break nothing.

mkretzer
Expert
Posts: 400
Liked: 79 times
Joined: Dec 17, 2015 7:17 am
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Post by mkretzer » Nov 22, 2016 11:05 am

@gostev: Is that so? Will it not detect 2016?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16691
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Post by foggy » Nov 22, 2016 11:47 am

Veeam B&R v9 didn't support Windows 2016, so I recommend starting upgrade from the Veeam B&R itself and then upgrade the OS. You will be able to use any new functionality introduced in Veeam B&R v9.5. Don't forget to backup Veeam B&R configuration prior the upgrade, just in case.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15077
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Post by v.Eremin » Nov 22, 2016 12:20 pm

As to ReFS features support, regardless of upgrade procedure those are intended to be used on new repositories, rather than on existing ones. In other words, you won't be able to enable them on existing repository and after the upgrade you will have to add a ReFS formatted volume as a new repository to get access to 9.5 ReFS gems.

Thanks.

tdewin
Veeam Software
Posts: 1301
Liked: 426 times
Joined: Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
Full Name: Timothy Dewin
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Post by tdewin » Nov 22, 2016 12:32 pm 2 people like this post

Btw, you can verify if ReFS is succesfully detected if Align blocks is checked/greyed out in the advanced settings of your repository
Image

tomhkr
Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Feb 03, 2014 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Post by tomhkr » Nov 22, 2016 12:33 pm 1 person likes this post

I was thinking of making a complete new installation of Windows 2016 on the same machine, not an upgrade.
I would like to keep a possibility to recover my 2012 R2 installation in case something does not work.
I'd assume something like this;

1. Upgrade current 2012R2 / VBR 9.0 to VBR 9.5, make sure it works
2. Backup VBR configuration
3. Make a Veeam Endpoint backup of the server and make sure it is restorable with bare metal restore
4. Format and reinstall Windows 2016 and then VBR 9.5
5. Restore VBR backup
If something goes wrong I could restore the machine from the endpoint baremetal backup. ?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16691
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Post by foggy » Nov 22, 2016 12:37 pm

Your plan looks solid. Though p.1 is not actually required, since you can import v9 configuration directly into v9.5.

DaStivi
Service Provider
Posts: 93
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jun 30, 2015 9:13 am
Full Name: Stephan Lang
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Post by DaStivi » Nov 22, 2016 2:44 pm 2 people like this post

i did a inplace upgrade from 2008r2 to 2012r2 back one year now... on rtm 9.5 i did upgraded Veeam to 9.5 and inplace upgraded to server 2016 now... without any issues...

i've an quite "old" HP 360gen7 server... installed all hp tools with spp and it's up and running fine!

archambeaud
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 25, 2014 8:55 am
Full Name: David Archambeau
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Post by archambeaud » Nov 28, 2016 8:28 am

Hi,

I have first upgraded from 9.0 to 9.5 and only after I have upgraded from Server 2012 R2 to 2016.
I have formatted my repositories with ReFS but into it I see that the "Align backup data block" is not greyed out.
So, is Veeam using the new ReFS features ? If I undersand this post I thing not.

Is there a way to enable it ?

Thanks

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4668
Liked: 498 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Post by Mike Resseler » Nov 28, 2016 8:37 am

David,

If you have formatted your volume with ReFS, and then add it as a new repository it should be detected automatically that it is a new repository and ReFS capable. Is that how you did it? It also might be the case that (since you upgraded from 2012 to 2016 there went something wrong there... Can you check the ReFS version number? You can check that with this:

Code: Select all

fsutil fsinfo refsinfo <driveletter>

archambeaud
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 25, 2014 8:55 am
Full Name: David Archambeau
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Post by archambeaud » Nov 28, 2016 8:51 am

Hi,

The ReFS version is 3.1, but I remember that I don't have added it as a new repository.

I have stopped all veeam services, moved data, formated the drive and copy back the data.
So Veeam is probably not aware of the change of partition type.

I will try to remove and add the repositories.

I'll let you know.

archambeaud
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 25, 2014 8:55 am
Full Name: David Archambeau
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Post by archambeaud » Nov 28, 2016 9:15 am

Hi,

Ok, after delete and add back the repositories they are well detected as ReFS.

David

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 28 guests