Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Veeam Logoby tomhkr » Tue Nov 22, 2016 9:52 am

I would like to upgrade my Veeam Backup and Replication server (which also doubles as a Proxy) from Windows Server 2012R2/ VBR 9.0 to Windows 2016 and VBR 9.5
It is a physical machine and thus I cannot build a second machine parallell to it and switch over.

What would be the recommended course of action?
tomhkr
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 7:40 am

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Veeam Logoby kristofpoppe » Tue Nov 22, 2016 10:22 am 1 person likes this post

Hello, if you don't have another machine, this is the way I should work:

- Bring your current Veeam to a version that allows upgrade to 9.5
- Stop all Veeam services and backup jobs
- Inplace upgrade of your 2012 R2 to 2016 (quite straight forward, but depending on specific hardware, drivers, storage,...)
- If you have local backup partitions, temp. copy the data to another location and re-format to ReFS
- Start upgrading to 9.5


Benefit from 9.5 features on ReFS backup storage
kristofpoppe
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 1:19 pm
Full Name: Kristof Poppe

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Veeam Logoby mkretzer » Tue Nov 22, 2016 10:24 am

Why not first update to 9.5 and then windows? That way it is two steps...
mkretzer
Expert
 
Posts: 306
Liked: 67 times
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 7:17 am

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Veeam Logoby kristofpoppe » Tue Nov 22, 2016 10:30 am

It's not clear that an already upgraded 9.5 will see if he's on 2016.

Veeam always remains the previous settings to break nothing.
kristofpoppe
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 1:19 pm
Full Name: Kristof Poppe

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Veeam Logoby mkretzer » Tue Nov 22, 2016 11:05 am

@gostev: Is that so? Will it not detect 2016?
mkretzer
Expert
 
Posts: 306
Liked: 67 times
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 7:17 am

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Nov 22, 2016 11:47 am

Veeam B&R v9 didn't support Windows 2016, so I recommend starting upgrade from the Veeam B&R itself and then upgrade the OS. You will be able to use any new functionality introduced in Veeam B&R v9.5. Don't forget to backup Veeam B&R configuration prior the upgrade, just in case.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Nov 22, 2016 12:20 pm

As to ReFS features support, regardless of upgrade procedure those are intended to be used on new repositories, rather than on existing ones. In other words, you won't be able to enable them on existing repository and after the upgrade you will have to add a ReFS formatted volume as a new repository to get access to 9.5 ReFS gems.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Veeam Logoby tdewin » Tue Nov 22, 2016 12:32 pm 2 people like this post

Btw, you can verify if ReFS is succesfully detected if Align blocks is checked/greyed out in the advanced settings of your repository
Image
tdewin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1043
Liked: 360 times
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
Full Name: Timothy Dewin

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Veeam Logoby tomhkr » Tue Nov 22, 2016 12:33 pm

I was thinking of making a complete new installation of Windows 2016 on the same machine, not an upgrade.
I would like to keep a possibility to recover my 2012 R2 installation in case something does not work.
I'd assume something like this;

1. Upgrade current 2012R2 / VBR 9.0 to VBR 9.5, make sure it works
2. Backup VBR configuration
3. Make a Veeam Endpoint backup of the server and make sure it is restorable with bare metal restore
4. Format and reinstall Windows 2016 and then VBR 9.5
5. Restore VBR backup
If something goes wrong I could restore the machine from the endpoint baremetal backup. ?
tomhkr
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 7:40 am

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Nov 22, 2016 12:37 pm

Your plan looks solid. Though p.1 is not actually required, since you can import v9 configuration directly into v9.5.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Veeam Logoby DaStivi » Tue Nov 22, 2016 2:44 pm 2 people like this post

i did a inplace upgrade from 2008r2 to 2012r2 back one year now... on rtm 9.5 i did upgraded Veeam to 9.5 and inplace upgraded to server 2016 now... without any issues...

i've an quite "old" HP 360gen7 server... installed all hp tools with spp and it's up and running fine!
DaStivi
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 50
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:13 am
Full Name: Stephan Lang

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Veeam Logoby archambeaud » Mon Nov 28, 2016 8:28 am

Hi,

I have first upgraded from 9.0 to 9.5 and only after I have upgraded from Server 2012 R2 to 2016.
I have formatted my repositories with ReFS but into it I see that the "Align backup data block" is not greyed out.
So, is Veeam using the new ReFS features ? If I undersand this post I thing not.

Is there a way to enable it ?

Thanks
archambeaud
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 8:55 am
Full Name: David Archambeau

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Nov 28, 2016 8:37 am

David,

If you have formatted your volume with ReFS, and then add it as a new repository it should be detected automatically that it is a new repository and ReFS capable. Is that how you did it? It also might be the case that (since you upgraded from 2012 to 2016 there went something wrong there... Can you check the ReFS version number? You can check that with this:

Code: Select all
fsutil fsinfo refsinfo <driveletter>
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3150
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Veeam Logoby archambeaud » Mon Nov 28, 2016 8:51 am

Hi,

The ReFS version is 3.1, but I remember that I don't have added it as a new repository.

I have stopped all veeam services, moved data, formated the drive and copy back the data.
So Veeam is probably not aware of the change of partition type.

I will try to remove and add the repositories.

I'll let you know.
archambeaud
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 8:55 am
Full Name: David Archambeau

Re: Upgrade to 2016 and 9.5 ?

Veeam Logoby archambeaud » Mon Nov 28, 2016 9:15 am

Hi,

Ok, after delete and add back the repositories they are well detected as ReFS.

David
archambeaud
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 8:55 am
Full Name: David Archambeau

Next

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 27 guests