Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
tfloor
Expert
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor
Contact:

Upgrade v6 to v6.1 Infinite loop of reboots

Post by tfloor » Jun 04, 2012 4:50 pm

Hi,

I just upgraded our windows 2008 R2 physical Server from veeam v6 to v6.1
After the upgrade the installer asks for reboot, so i did.
It know goes to "APPLYING COMPUTER SETTINGS".. wait some time and the reboot , again , again and again.

Any idea?

I had rebooted the server just before the upgrade without any problems.

Regards,

Tristan

[UPDATE] This issue is caused due to not following the upgrade procedure listed in the Release Notes document, specifically at the part that requires you to upgrade the Enterprise Manager server first, before upgrading actual backup servers. Only happens when both backup server and Enterprise Management server are installed on the same computer.

tfloor
Expert
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor
Contact:

Re: Upgrade v6 to v6.1 Infinite loop of reboots

Post by tfloor » Jun 04, 2012 5:08 pm

Going back to "last known good configuration" gives me my server back in a controlled state

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Upgrade v6 to v6.1 Infinite loop of reboots

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 04, 2012 5:18 pm

Hi Tristan,

Can you please contact our support team and let them have a look at this issue live? Also can you please set Veeam services to Manual startup type, verify that your machine boots normally and then start Veeam services?

Thanks!

htwnrva
Enthusiast
Posts: 32
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 20, 2010 6:59 pm
Full Name: Ronny
Contact:

Re: Upgrade v6 to v6.1 Infinite loop of reboots

Post by htwnrva » Jun 04, 2012 7:52 pm

Same problem here with a physical 2008 R2 box. I'll open a case also. I had to last known good configuration it also however is that going to have a negative effect on the application we just installed?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24474
Liked: 3414 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Upgrade v6 to v6.1 Infinite loop of reboots

Post by Gostev » Jun 04, 2012 8:39 pm

Might be due to some 3rd party software incompatibility, as obviously we only test upgrade on clean installs. Kindly please open support case to let us research this more closely. As far as I can judge from social media, upgrades are reported to be successful so far, but any similar issue reported more than once already worth being closely research.

wvd
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 10, 2011 11:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Upgrade v6 to v6.1 Infinite loop of reboots

Post by wvd » Jun 04, 2012 8:51 pm

Same here after upgrade. Virtual 2008 R2. Veeam monitor is installed on same box and it is also a domain controller. (homelab)

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24474
Liked: 3414 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Upgrade v6 to v6.1 Infinite loop of reboots

Post by Gostev » Jun 04, 2012 9:26 pm

So, I've been told that the most likely reason for this is not following the upgrade procedure listed in the Release Notes document, specifically at the part that requires you to upgrade the Enterprise Manager server first, before upgrading actual backup servers.

I will not have any further details until I talk to R&D tomorrow morning. If you had run into this issue, please open a support case and we will get back to you with the best resolution once we have the resolution validated.

Unverified workaround:
1. Boot into safe mode
2. Disable the Veeam catalog service
3. Boot back into normal mode
4. Upgrade Enterprise Manager to 6.1
5. Enable the Veeam catalog service.

htwnrva
Enthusiast
Posts: 32
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 20, 2010 6:59 pm
Full Name: Ronny
Contact:

Re: Upgrade v6 to v6.1 Infinite loop of reboots

Post by htwnrva » Jun 04, 2012 10:05 pm

I would be guilty of not upgrading enterprise manager first, also of not readying those notes too carefully :)

Jfmoots
Veeam Software
Posts: 214
Liked: 26 times
Joined: Oct 28, 2011 3:26 pm
Full Name: James Moots
Location: Ohio, United States
Contact:

Re: Upgrade v6 to v6.1 Infinite loop of reboots

Post by Jfmoots » Jun 05, 2012 1:04 am

This happened to me and the above unverified workaround worked like a charm.

tfloor
Expert
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor
Contact:

Re: Upgrade v6 to v6.1 Infinite loop of reboots

Post by tfloor » Jun 05, 2012 5:23 am

I was not able to go to safe mode. This one also reboots
I don't have upgraded enterprise manager first haha hmmm
And I also have veeam one installed on that physical server.
Glad to hear I'm not the only one. I will go today further with my server and do a health check.

Regards
Tristan

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5689
Liked: 1604 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Upgrade v6 to v6.1 Infinite loop of reboots

Post by dellock6 » Jun 05, 2012 8:42 am

I forgot too to upgrade Enteprise Manager first, but the Veeam Server upgrade was successful anyway, the only problem was the report of the old enterprise manager obviously stating this night we had 0 jobs. I upgraded Enteprise Manager this morning and it connected without a problem to the Veeam Server, showing also the jobs from Veeam Server 6.1

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

NightBird
Service Provider
Posts: 175
Liked: 32 times
Joined: Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE
Contact:

Re: Upgrade v6 to v6.1 Infinite loop of reboots

Post by NightBird » Jun 05, 2012 9:09 am

tfloor wrote:I was not able to go to safe mode. This one also reboots
I don't have upgraded enterprise manager first haha hmmm
And I also have veeam one installed on that physical server.
Glad to hear I'm not the only one. I will go today further with my server and do a health check.

Regards
Tristan
Same problem here.
I have to boot in recovery mode and load the registry hive to disable the Veeam services.

Boris

tfloor
Expert
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor
Contact:

Re: Upgrade v6 to v6.1 Infinite loop of reboots

Post by tfloor » Jun 05, 2012 9:55 am

Whoei, that's a lot more than i had todo.
I'm wondering if this was a suspected result if you don't upgrade veeam backup enterprise manager first.
Most of the time windows is clever enough to pass the services if it fail.

jfrmilner
Service Provider
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 23, 2012 9:55 am
Full Name: John Milner
Contact:

Re: Upgrade v6 to v6.1 Infinite loop of reboots

Post by jfrmilner » Jun 07, 2012 1:24 pm

NightBird wrote: Same problem here.
I have to boot in recovery mode and load the registry hive to disable the Veeam services.

Boris
Like NightBird my installation kept rebooting even in safemode.

Steps to resolve (for me)
1. Change SCSI to LSI SAS if you are running Paravirtual as WinRE is unable to mount the disk (you could also use a driver disk if you have one handy).
2. Boot from Windows 2008 R2 DVD
3. Select Repair
4. Load recovery tools
5. Launch regedit and open the system hive *:\Windows\System32\Config\system
6. Navigate to CurrentControlSet001\Services\
7. Set the Start type of all the Veeam services to 4 (Disabled)
8. Shutdown and restore SCSI to Paravirtual
9. Start VM and install Enterprise Manager, it'll complain at the end of the installation about the services, at this point I restored them all back to automatic.
10. Done. Remember to RTFRN!

Hope this helps someone.

Regards,

jfrmilner
Regards,

jfrmilner
http://en.gravatar.com/jfrmilner

stormlight
Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Apr 28, 2011 5:34 pm
Full Name: JG
Contact:

Re: Upgrade v6 to v6.1 Infinite loop of reboots

Post by stormlight » Jun 11, 2012 3:39 am 1 person likes this post

Is there a way to see if you have enterprise management server installed? I can't remember if we installed it.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Upgrade v6 to v6.1 Infinite loop of reboots

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 11, 2012 9:53 am

Since this issue only happens when you have both Veeam backup server and Enterprise Manager deployed on the same machine, you can just check EM presence using "Add or remove programs" on your backup server.

KevinBeaumont
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 28, 2011 3:04 pm
Full Name: Kevin Beaumont
Contact:

Re: Upgrade v6 to v6.1 Infinite loop of reboots

Post by KevinBeaumont » Jun 20, 2012 10:08 am

Folks

Just for info, I had this exact problem on our Veeam physical backup server (Win Server 2003 R2) - but we hadn't upgraded to 6.1. Fun! Not sure of cause yet. I googled the symptoms and ended up at this forum - the "Last known good configuration" suggestion worked fine, server is back now. It's entirely possible it isn't Veeam related.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Valentina Patsukova and 48 guests