Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
jimkeops
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 15, 2011 1:49 am
Contact:

Upgrading from 6.0 to 6.5

Post by jimkeops » Nov 01, 2012 1:35 pm

Hey guys,
I'm trying to upgrade to 6.5 but the process seems to work until it tries to uninstall the previous version, it's trying to use an installation package call BU_x64.msi which is not in the server, i also tried to find it in another veeam server i have, no luck :(
i already open a case with support but they told me to download the installer again which make no difference, i'm waiting for more info from support but i was wondering if anybody here have seen this before

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24939
Liked: 3622 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from 6.0 to 6.5

Post by Gostev » Nov 01, 2012 2:43 pm

Have not heard about anything like that before...

jimkeops
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 15, 2011 1:49 am
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from 6.0 to 6.5

Post by jimkeops » Nov 01, 2012 2:59 pm 1 person likes this post

i called support, we had to run microsoft cleanup tool in order to be able to uninstall the 6.0 version, weird stuff was the services remained running, we had to manually stop them and then do a fresh install which completed successfully.
hopefully my jobs will run fine tonight :)
thanks

mikkeland
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 15, 2012 3:56 pm
Full Name: Mikkel Andreasen
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from 6.0 to 6.5

Post by mikkeland » Nov 15, 2012 3:59 pm

Just ran in to the same issue while upgrading from 6.1 to 6.5 - has this been resolved/experienced at Veeam or are we on our own?
jim: could you shed some light on what procedure you followed to get the install working?

/Mikkel

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23070
Liked: 1582 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from 6.0 to 6.5

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 15, 2012 4:10 pm

This behavior hasn't been spotted during our internal testing, so If need to get it working as soon as possible, please contact our support team for assistance.

mikkeland
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 15, 2012 3:56 pm
Full Name: Mikkel Andreasen
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from 6.0 to 6.5

Post by mikkeland » Nov 15, 2012 4:43 pm 1 person likes this post

Got this resolved by 7zip extracting "veeam_backup_6.0.0.153_x64.exe" and pointing to the BU_x64.msi.
All services are started, and I'll a test backup job completed without issues.
So apparently my install, which started out as a 6.0 and was later updated to 6.1, still had som references to the 6.0 installer.

/Mikkel

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests