Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
0zzY
Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jul 09, 2012 8:01 am
Full Name: 0zzy
Contact:

Uppgrade from 6.1 to 6.5

Post by 0zzY » Oct 31, 2012 8:42 am

Hi all, i have to uppgrade from B&R from 6.1 to 6.5, is there some tutorials to follow or just run the new setup and then a couple of click next is necessary?
And one more, i'm logged in the license management portal..have i also to uppgrade the licese? how? (Have i to convert the production key, following the link proposed?)

Thaks all.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24788
Liked: 3521 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Uppgrade from 6.1 to 6.5

Post by Gostev » Oct 31, 2012 8:50 am

Hi, please follow the upgrade procedure described in the Release Notes document included with your download.
Depending on your current license version, you may not need to do anything (please read the sticky FAQ topic). Thanks!

0zzY
Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jul 09, 2012 8:01 am
Full Name: 0zzy
Contact:

Re: Uppgrade from 6.1 to 6.5

Post by 0zzY » Oct 31, 2012 9:09 am

Thaks Gostev

raychiu
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 20, 2012 7:58 am
Full Name: Ray C
Contact:

[MERGED] Upgrade to Veeam 6.5

Post by raychiu » Nov 20, 2012 8:09 am

Hi,


Can i upgrade directly from Veeam 5.0 to Veeam 6.5? I saw on other post which mentioned that i should upgrade to 6.0 first?
what's the most recommended way?

thanks
rc

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22976
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Uppgrade from 6.1 to 6.5

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 20, 2012 8:13 am

To upgrade to version 6.5, you must be running Veeam B&R version 6.1, 6.0, 5.0.1 or 5.0.2

habibalby
Expert
Posts: 379
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Jul 18, 2011 9:30 am
Full Name: Hussain Al Sayed
Location: Bahrain
Contact:

Re: Uppgrade from 6.1 to 6.5

Post by habibalby » Nov 21, 2012 11:57 am

I have just upgraded from 6.1.x to 6.5.0.109.

6.1 it comes with SQL Express 2005 but with v6.5 higher SQL Version which is not supported / not compatible with older version. In this case you have to upgrade SQL2008 R2 before you upgrade Veeam. The problem is, the installation wizard will not tell you this. The wizard runs fine and detects a previous version of Veeam. It will also ask you if you want to upgrade.

1. Stop Veeam Services.
2. Backup SQL Database
3. Upgrade SQL Express 2005 to SQL Express 2008 R2 SQLEXPR_x64_ENU.exe /action=upgrade
4. Once it's done, start veeam Services.
5. Upgrade Enterprise Manager first if you are using it.
6. Upgrade Veeam Backup & Replication.
7. Launch Veeam Console and you will be prompt it with agent upgrade to upgrade the Repository Servers and Proxy Servers.
8. Just make sure everything is back to normal, jobs, logs, configuration etc etc...

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5418
Liked: 2240 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Uppgrade from 6.1 to 6.5

Post by tsightler » Nov 21, 2012 4:02 pm 1 person likes this post

Just to be clear, there is no requirement to upgrade to SQL Express 2008 R2 prior to upgrading to B&R 6.5. SQL 2005 is still fully supported by V6.5 as a backend database. If you are currently running 6.1 or earlier with SQL 2005 Express, the upgrade wizard will not upgrade SQL, but will upgrade B&R to 6.5. You can of course choose to manually upgrade to SQL Express 2008 R2, and this can be done either before or after the upgrade. Also, B&R 6.1 did fully support SQL 2008R2 as a backend database.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Hucketr88 and 19 guests