Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
slaneph
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 23, 2012 3:44 pm
Full Name: Sean Lane
Contact:

Use MS DPM for backup to tape

Post by slaneph » Sep 17, 2012 4:49 pm

Anyone out there using MS Data Protection for getting your backups onto tape? Any tips/suggestions/problems? We have backup exec, but since upgrading to 2012 we are having a lot of problems.
Thank you,
Sean

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5628
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Use MS DPM for backup to tape

Post by dellock6 » Sep 17, 2012 8:39 pm 2 people like this post

Since Veeam will add tape support in their next major release, my advice is to save your money on actual tape backup software and wait for it. For now, you can go with really cheap but powerful solution like Uranium backup for example (forgive my sales pitch here, I do not work for them nor I'm related to them, but they are italians like me :))

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

kewnev
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Jun 17, 2012 1:09 pm
Full Name: Nev V
Contact:

Re: Use MS DPM for backup to tape

Post by kewnev » Sep 18, 2012 5:08 am

hi Sean,

BE 2012 is certainly a dog of a product.

Having said that, simply getting Veeam backups written to tape should work fine.

Did you upgrade BE 2012 from a previous version? If so, I recommend you completely uninstall it, and re-install the product from scratch. It certainly helps.

We have very little problem with backing up Veeam to tape with BE2012. But native Veeam tape support will be a godsend!

Nev

ian0x0r
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 220
Liked: 41 times
Joined: Nov 11, 2010 11:53 am
Full Name: Ian Sanderson
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Use MS DPM for backup to tape

Post by ian0x0r » Sep 19, 2012 9:59 am

Slightly off topic, but is there a roadmap showing that Veeam will be including tape support? Is it version 6.5?

Thanks :D
https://www.snurf.co.uk

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17725
Liked: 1483 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Use MS DPM for backup to tape

Post by foggy » Sep 19, 2012 10:29 am

ian0x0r wrote:Slightly off topic, but is there a roadmap showing that Veeam will be including tape support? Is it version 6.5?
Not in v6.5. Tape support will be added in the next major release.

kewnev
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Jun 17, 2012 1:09 pm
Full Name: Nev V
Contact:

Re: Use MS DPM for backup to tape

Post by kewnev » Sep 23, 2012 9:46 pm

hi foggy,

Will the tape functionality be basic in that one will have to restore all the Veeam backup files first to a disk area, even to restore just one file .. or will one be able to selectively restore data directly from the backup tape (even down to Windows guest file level)

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24022
Liked: 3257 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Use MS DPM for backup to tape

Post by Gostev » Sep 24, 2012 3:18 pm

Since tape does not support random access to backup file, disk staging will be required for all types of restores.

slaneph
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 23, 2012 3:44 pm
Full Name: Sean Lane
Contact:

Re: Use MS DPM for backup to tape

Post by slaneph » Sep 27, 2012 8:03 pm 1 person likes this post

Thanks everyone for the replies. Veeam to tape direct will be awesome. I cannot wait until it is released. For now I need a solution that can handle both Physical and Virtual Servers. I will play around with getting Veeam to work with DPM when my new tape drive arrives next week. If I can make it work I will write a post about it.
My Backup exec was an upgrade. I would try a fresh install, but we are trying to get away from BE and use MS DPM with System Center 2012 since we pay for it on our enterprise agreement.
Thank you

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Karinne and 33 guests