Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
myentsch
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 07, 2011 2:52 pm
Contact:

Using HOTADD trying Init. Replication w/ Remov. Storage

Post by myentsch » Dec 07, 2011 3:02 pm

Hello,

Is it possible to use the Virtual Appliance mode when first performing the initial replication to a removable storage device? When selecting Virtual Appliance mode and NOT failing over to Network mode it fails. The error

I'm not sure if the error has anything to do with not using HOTADD, but when I enabled fail over to Network mode replication is now running. Any thoughts? Thanks!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Using HOTADD trying Init. Replication w/ Remov. Storage

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 07, 2011 3:10 pm

Hello,

Yes, that's possible as initial seeding is not limited to Network backup mode jobs. Most likely your backup proxy doesn't meet system requirements for Virtual Appliance (Hot Add) mode to work.

Please avoid posting log snippets on the forums as it is requested when you click New Topic.

Thanks!

myentsch
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 07, 2011 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Using HOTADD trying Init. Replication w/ Remov. Storage

Post by myentsch » Dec 07, 2011 3:19 pm

Well it works fine when going from SAN-to-SAN. The removable storage is an external hard drive attached to the Veeam VM, by the way.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Using HOTADD trying Init. Replication w/ Remov. Storage

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 07, 2011 3:25 pm

Virtual Appliance and SAN modes have different system requirements, please review out sticky F.A.Q. for more information.

myentsch
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 07, 2011 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Using HOTADD trying Init. Replication w/ Remov. Storage

Post by myentsch » Dec 07, 2011 3:30 pm

Ah, I'm sorry. I meant that Virtual Appliance works fine when replicating from one of our SANs to another. (Not using Direct SAN Access mode)

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Using HOTADD trying Init. Replication w/ Remov. Storage

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 07, 2011 3:40 pm

Ok, in this case please contact our support team to review your log files. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 19 guests