Using Veeam Backup Free Edition v9 for a task of mine

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Using Veeam Backup Free Edition v9 for a task of mine

Veeam Logoby paganoMonello » Wed Sep 14, 2016 8:23 am

Hi over there,
I'm a newbie about Veeam. I've been asked by my boss to plan a data recovery strategy, for our business data.

Our company consists of two offices: Office A and Office B. Inside Office A we have the data we want to backup using the Office B.

Now I try to expose the idea I would propose to my boss; after having asked for any suggestion from you there:

Inside the Office A I've got a huge data dumb (folder), stored on a server. The physical server has an hypevisor, and on that hypervisor I have Windows7 Server Edition installed.

Now: I want to install Veeam Backup Free Edition v9 client on this Windows Server.

In the Office B I configure the physical server (NAS) with an hypervisor and, over this hypervisor, I would to install FreeNAS OS.

I let you at the following link a pitiful drawing with the intent to clarify the idea I have:

[url]file:///Users/Cristiano/Desktop/Screen%20Shot%202016-09-14%20at%2003.10.16.png[/url]

I am sorry for my poor explanation, and I do thank anyone who reads my post and, more, who will send my any suggestions.
paganoMonello
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 7:56 am
Full Name: pagano monello

Re: Using Veeam Backup Free Edition v9 for a task of mine

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Sep 14, 2016 9:55 am

You can install VB&R server on Windows 7 machine located in office A and backup VMs to NAS residing in Office B. However, you will have to make sure that office B NAS is reachable from backup server and backup service account has required permissions given to it. By the way, how are you going to configure target device? As a CIFS share? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Using Veeam Backup Free Edition v9 for a task of mine

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Sep 14, 2016 2:49 pm

paganoMonello wrote:Inside the Office A I've got a huge data dumb (folder), stored on a server.

Is this the data you need to backup? Is this a physical server?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14765
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], erwanns, Gnaah and 26 guests