Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
scottf99
Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jul 29, 2013 2:13 am
Full Name: Scott
Contact:

V12 Move Backup feature keep on same extent

Post by scottf99 »

Hi. I have a SOBR with 4 extents/repositories. I want to move a VM from one backup to another. When I did tried this I expected/hoped to keep it on the same extent as that it would be a file move with little to no IO. Instead it moved it to another extent with a ton of IO and the backup file ending up on an extent I didnt want to use.
Is there a way to force "Move Backup" to keep the files on the same extent and if there is am I correct it would be a typical file move with no IO?
Thanks
HannesK
Product Manager
Posts: 14314
Liked: 2890 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: V12 Move Backup feature keep on same extent

Post by HannesK »

Hello,
unfortunately I'm not aware of a workaround, but I can tell you that we are planning to fix that issue.

Best regards,
Hannes
scottf99
Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jul 29, 2013 2:13 am
Full Name: Scott
Contact:

Re: V12 Move Backup feature keep on same extent

Post by scottf99 »

Thanks. Can you give an estimate of a time to fix?
HannesK
Product Manager
Posts: 14314
Liked: 2890 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: V12 Move Backup feature keep on same extent

Post by HannesK »

no, there is no timeline yet.
tobiasmaurer
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 26, 2023 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tobias Maurer
Contact:

Re: V12 Move Backup feature keep on same extent

Post by tobiasmaurer » 1 person likes this post

Hello Scottf99 and HannesK,
I can even add to this, that I see the same behaviour with a SOBR containing only one extent (ReFs).
You should include using the filesystem's capabilities to just change pointers to the files instead of copying every bit.
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Posts: 31534
Liked: 6707 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: V12 Move Backup feature keep on same extent

Post by Gostev »

scottf99 wrote: Apr 19, 2023 3:22 am Thanks. Can you give an estimate of a time to fix?
We're hoping to address this in 12a, I just discussed this with the responsible R&D team last week.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 27 guests