Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Tom Bale
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 08, 2011 10:11 am
Full Name: Thomas Bale
Contact:

V6 Default Proxy Settings

Post by Tom Bale »

Hi All,

Just want to give out a quick warning about issues that I had with scheduled backups last night after upgrading to V6. Many backup jobs were delayed because the Backup Proxy's default setting for Max concurrent tasks is 2.

This was more of an issue for us because we only have a single phyical backup server that runs backups over LAN at night. The server has the power to run many more jobs at one time but for some reason the single proxy automatically created during upgrade from V5 was set a maximum of 2 tasks at a time. So if you have a similar setup to us be sure to check that before letting things run themselves.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19444
Liked: 1765 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: V6 Default Proxy Settings

Post by foggy »

Thomas, yes obviously you should tune this setting according to your hardware. The default setting is set to 2 tasks, as typically 2 cores are saturated by a single backup job and we recommend to install backup proxy on a computer with at least 4-core CPU.

Beevoir
Expert
Posts: 144
Liked: never
Joined: May 06, 2010 11:13 am
Full Name: Mike Beevor
Contact:

Re: V6 Default Proxy Settings

Post by Beevoir »

Hi Tom,

The maximum number of concurrent tasks is set by Veeam, based on the number of CPU cores available within the Veeam server.

Thanks

Mike

Tom Bale
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 08, 2011 10:11 am
Full Name: Thomas Bale
Contact:

Re: V6 Default Proxy Settings

Post by Tom Bale »

The CPU in our machine has more than 4 cores. I am not concerned about this, just wanted to make any others upgrading on a single physical machine without proxies setup aware that they may need to check this.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26693
Liked: 4273 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: V6 Default Proxy Settings

Post by Gostev »

Default (local) VMware backup proxy is always set to 2 concurrent jobs by default. The core detection Mike is talking about happens only when deploying additional proxies.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: PariPari, PetrM and 68 guests