Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
AliBaig
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Ali Baig

v6 Replication preparation and settings

Post by AliBaig »

Hi everyone I am new with Veeam and in learning process as well, will need help from all of you.

I have upgraded my VEEAM Backup & Replication from V5 to V6 and now would like to take advantage of the speedier replication.
Can someone please provide step-by-step guidance how to create replica job for DR site?

We have HP SAN P4300 with 3 ESX host in vCenter cluster, and in DR site I have 1 ESXi host which has 12TB NAS (iOmega) configured as DATASTORE. DR site is on different subnet and connected to vCenter over the VPN

- What would be the transport mode and the connected Datastore?
- Do I need to create a new Backup Repository for my replicas?
- If new Backup Repository is needed, where would I point it and would they be called Replication Repositories?

Thank you!

I am sure that more questions may come up as I do this, but this is to get me started :)
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6648 times

Re: v6 Replication preparation and settings

Post by Gostev »

Hi Ali,
The User Guide provides step-by-step for replication job creation that you are looking for (backup repository questions are also answered there).
The transport mode depends on whether your backup proxy server is physical or virtual (transport modes are well covered in the sticky FAQ topic).
Thanks.
AliBaig
Novice

Post by AliBaig »

Hi Gostev,
Many thanks for your prompt reply, user guide i am using is for v5 and i cannot find for v6. Can you please provide me link where i can download PDF version for v6 user guide? Reason i posted this here because i need to get best successful practice to see how REPLICATION works and how they get seeds from HO, in user guide you get information to the point and it does not explain in depth.

Many thanks.
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Post by Vitaliy S. »