Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Dude
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 27, 2011 11:57 pm
Contact:

v6 still requiring admin for app aware image processing?

Post by Dude »

In v5 the application aware image processing required the use of the Administrator account, not just an account with local administrative privileges. Has this been fixed in v6?

To be clear, in v5 one could use an account with local administrative privileges if one were to disable UAC, otherwise the use of the actual Administrator account was necessary. This obviously presents a number of issues in a domain environment where neither running as Administrator nor disabling UAC is an option.

trichert
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 08, 2011 12:17 pm
Full Name: Todd Richert
Contact:

Re: v6 still requiring admin for app aware image processing?

Post by trichert »

*shiver* there are environments that haven't disabled UAC ? :)

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24044
Liked: 1795 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: v6 still requiring admin for app aware image processing?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Peter,

Didn't quite catch what should be fixed in v6, but If you want to use "application-aware image processing" option then local or domain administrator account is required.

Thank you.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26366
Liked: 4114 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: v6 still requiring admin for app aware image processing?

Post by Gostev »

This is a security "feature" of UAC implementation Vista and above to require actual administrator accounts (not just Local Administrator group membership)... nothing we can fix unfortunately.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bertdhont, brett.gavin, Google [Bot], Herbert Sz, restore-helper and 57 guests