Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Dude
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 27, 2011 11:57 pm
Contact:

v6 still requiring admin for app aware image processing?

Post by Dude » Nov 08, 2011 9:34 pm

In v5 the application aware image processing required the use of the Administrator account, not just an account with local administrative privileges. Has this been fixed in v6?

To be clear, in v5 one could use an account with local administrative privileges if one were to disable UAC, otherwise the use of the actual Administrator account was necessary. This obviously presents a number of issues in a domain environment where neither running as Administrator nor disabling UAC is an option.

trichert
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 08, 2011 12:17 pm
Full Name: Todd Richert
Contact:

Re: v6 still requiring admin for app aware image processing?

Post by trichert » Nov 09, 2011 1:05 am

*shiver* there are environments that haven't disabled UAC ? :)

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23214
Liked: 1605 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: v6 still requiring admin for app aware image processing?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 09, 2011 9:36 am

Hello Peter,

Didn't quite catch what should be fixed in v6, but If you want to use "application-aware image processing" option then local or domain administrator account is required.

Thank you.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25107
Liked: 3678 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: v6 still requiring admin for app aware image processing?

Post by Gostev » Nov 09, 2011 10:55 am

This is a security "feature" of UAC implementation Vista and above to require actual administrator accounts (not just Local Administrator group membership)... nothing we can fix unfortunately.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: George Boncea, Google [Bot], Jonathan, Majestic-12 [Bot] and 73 guests