Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Anders
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Sep 09, 2010 9:45 am
Full Name: Anders Lorensen
Contact:

V7 - FLR to Original location

Post by Anders » Aug 26, 2013 10:48 am

Hi Everyone

In V6.5, when doing a file level restore, Veeam would restore via VMWare tools to the VM.

How do I get that to Work in V7? My Veeam servers dont have access to most of my VM's by IP.
When I try a FLR I just get a "unable to establish connection to the vm, check credentials and try Again".

Shouldnt it automaticly failover to using VMWare tools when no direct IP connection can be made? or was this changed somehow in V7?

--
Anders

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5421
Liked: 2243 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: V7 - FLR to Original location

Post by tsightler » Aug 26, 2013 6:00 pm

You should open a support case as this should still work. Could be a bug.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16901
Liked: 1438 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: V7 - FLR to Original location

Post by veremin » Aug 27, 2013 7:05 am

Additionally, if in overwhelming majority of cases you don’t have network access to VMs and, meanwhile, want to use application aware image processing, it might be worth adding InverseVssProtocolOrder (DWORD) registry hack that reverses the sequence of application-aware processing, making jobs try network-less processing mode before network.

Thanks.

TheLittleOne
Service Provider
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 27, 2013 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: V7 - FLR to Original location

Post by TheLittleOne » Aug 27, 2013 1:09 pm

Hi,

I have the same problem, is there any solution?

TheLittleOne
Service Provider
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 27, 2013 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: V7 - FLR to Original location

Post by TheLittleOne » Aug 29, 2013 10:00 pm 1 person likes this post

I found my problem,
I have a vSphere 4.1 (ESX) cluster which is in a different subnet. After I add a vmk Port to the ESX which has connection to the repository it work for me.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16901
Liked: 1438 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: V7 - FLR to Original location

Post by veremin » Aug 30, 2013 7:42 am

Thank you for coming back and updating the topic with the found resolution; much appreciated.

JeremiahS
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 19, 2013 6:23 pm
Full Name: Jeremiah S
Contact:

Re: V7 - FLR to Original location

Post by JeremiahS » Sep 02, 2013 2:39 pm

Any identified resolution to OP's question about FLR besides making sure network connectivity is present from Backup Server to Guest? In large firewalled environment, using VMTools instead of network is preferable.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: V7 - FLR to Original location

Post by foggy » Sep 02, 2013 3:42 pm

Jeremiah, please open a support case for your own investigation. FLR should work without guest being available on the network.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 17 guests