Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
bernd.dausch
Service Provider
Posts: 20
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 27, 2016 7:17 pm
Full Name: Bernd Dausch
Contact:

[MERGED] Veeam B&R 9 - Remote Console and File Level Restore

Post by bernd.dausch » May 27, 2016 7:36 pm

Hello Veeam,

we use B&R 9.0.0.1491 and use Windows 2012 R2 Storage Server als Backup Repository. The Mount-Server on every Backup Repository
points to the Repository Himself.

When we start a File Level Restore the Backup was mounted on the Server/Client that runs the Veeam B&R Remote Console.

We have two Problems:

- Recovery from Files over VPN Connections Slow
- When the Recovery Console runs as non privileged User on a Windows Admin PC, i cant see all Files because of missing ntfs rights.

any Tips?

Best Regards,

bernd

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Post by foggy » May 30, 2016 9:48 am

Hello Bernd. Depending on the restore option (restore to original location or copying files to some other folder), the actual restore process is using different servers for mounting backup files. In case of restore to original location, mount to remote console is used with the purpose of browsing file system only, actual restore should go through the mount to repository server. What kind of restore are you using?

clement.cromology
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 31, 2016 11:11 am
Full Name: Clement ODOT
Contact:

[MERGED] Veeam FLR question

Post by clement.cromology » May 31, 2016 11:19 am

Hello,

I have a question concerning the FLR process. My setup is the following :

Backup and replication server on the main site
Backup and replication console on the main site
Backup proxy and repository on the remote site
VMware infrastructure on the remote site

When attempting a FLR from the remote site repository, through the remote site proxy, to a VM on the remote site VMware infrastructure using the backup console on the main site, it looks like the restored file do not transit directly from the remote site backup proxy to the remote site target VM but through the main site backup and replication console.

I suspect that because :
- the restore process is very slow, as if it was transitionning through the WAN
- in the FLR log, I see both the backup and replication console host and the remote proxy indicated as being used as mount server

Thanks.

PTide
Veeam Software
Posts: 4316
Liked: 355 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam FLR question

Post by PTide » May 31, 2016 11:35 am

Hi,

Have you tried to specify the proxy as a mount server in repository settings?

Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Post by foggy » May 31, 2016 12:31 pm

Clement, what specific restore option are you using - restore to original VM or the Copy To function? See above for the answers to similar questions.

clement.cromology
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 31, 2016 11:11 am
Full Name: Clement ODOT
Contact:

Re: VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Post by clement.cromology » May 31, 2016 2:09 pm

I was using the "Restore to original VM". The restore was several thousand files large though. Might just be related to the command and control repeated for each file on a medium latency link.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Post by foggy » May 31, 2016 3:52 pm

What kind of repository is involved (Windows/Linux/CIFS/Dedupe)? Restore of thousands of files could indeed be slow, however, actual traffic should be local in case of restore to original location (unless, for example, repository gateway server is located in the main site).

bernd.dausch
Service Provider
Posts: 20
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 27, 2016 7:17 pm
Full Name: Bernd Dausch
Contact:

Re: VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Post by bernd.dausch » May 31, 2016 8:32 pm

@foogy:
we use the "copy the files to a other folder" option

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Post by foggy » May 31, 2016 9:43 pm

Then the fact that the backup is mounted to the server running console during the actual restore is expected.

IainKnott
Service Provider
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: May 09, 2016 8:22 am
Full Name: Iain
Contact:

[MERGED] FLR Mount Server Selection

Post by IainKnott » Dec 12, 2016 12:11 pm

How can we specify which mount server is used to perform file level restores?

I've just experienced a very slow restore, due to a poor choice of mount server having been selected, but cannot find a way to select a better one.

In my case a off-site backup was mounted to the onsite console via Veeam Power NFS.

From the backup guide, it would appear the repository server (Windows), which has also the mount service should have been chosen, and this would have been ideal.

posting.php?mode=post&f=2

"Backup repository. For Microsoft Windows backup repositories, the mount server role is assigned to the backup repository server itself."

"If you do not want to use default mount servers, you can assign the mount server role to any Microsoft Windows machine in the backup infrastructure. It is recommended that you configure at least one mount server in each site and associate this mount server with the backup repository residing in this site. The mount server and backup repository must be located as close to each other as possible. In this case, you will be able to keep the VM traffic in one site."

So I'm aiming for the windows server hosting the backup repository to be the chosen mount server, keeping Veeam Power NFS on-site, then only copying the chosen files across the WAN.

I've raised a ticket with support, who suggested installing the console at the remote site, which should get around this issue, but this means installing multiple consoles at multiple sites, and remembering to login to the correct ones.

Shouldn't it be possible to manage all of this from a single console? My understanding from the release notes implies this.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Post by foggy » Dec 12, 2016 12:29 pm

Hi Iain, please review this thread for specifics of the mount server selection.

IainKnott
Service Provider
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: May 09, 2016 8:22 am
Full Name: Iain
Contact:

Re: VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Post by IainKnott » Dec 12, 2016 1:11 pm

So for File Level Restores, the mount server has to be where Veeam Explorer is running?

Can we change this behaviour, perhaps raise a new feature request?

From a backup perspective, we can manage from a single remote console, specify the source, the destination and choose to offload the processing to a specific proxy. Can we have the same functionality for restores? I.e. Specifying the mount Server then letting Veeam Explorer connect remotely to browse and issue restore commands?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Post by foggy » Dec 12, 2016 2:08 pm

If you're performing restore to original location, during actual restore the backup file is mounted to the mount server specified for the repository. Mount to remote console is performed only for browsing prior to restore. What specific restore option are you using - restore to original VM or the Copy To function?

gfish
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 20, 2014 12:39 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] File-Restore directly from backup-proxy/repository

Post by gfish » Jul 17, 2017 10:29 am

Dear Veeam Friends,

My Configuration:
SITE 1:
Server with Veeam Backup Repository & Backup Proxy installed, Backup located on that reposoitry

SITE 2:
Veeam Management Server (console)

between those sites there is an WAN Connection.

When i try to do a file level restore to Site 1 - i think the traffic goes;
Site1-backup repository -> managementserver Site 2 -> produktion system site 1.

is there an option to get the file-level restore directly run on site 1 ?
I think for full vm restore it's possible to choose the proxy server.

thanks for your suggestions!

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1220
Liked: 128 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: File-Restore directly from backup-proxy/repository

Post by DGrinev » Jul 17, 2017 11:45 am

Hi,

You should deploy a Mount server close to the backup repository in case you want to restore files to the original location.
If it will be new location, then VBR mounts vm disks in the backup server or the console where you initiate the restore.

Please review this thread for additional information. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 24 guests