VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

[MERGED] Veeam B&R 9 - Remote Console and File Level Restore

Veeam Logoby bernd.dausch » Fri May 27, 2016 7:36 pm

Hello Veeam,

we use B&R 9.0.0.1491 and use Windows 2012 R2 Storage Server als Backup Repository. The Mount-Server on every Backup Repository
points to the Repository Himself.

When we start a File Level Restore the Backup was mounted on the Server/Client that runs the Veeam B&R Remote Console.

We have two Problems:

- Recovery from Files over VPN Connections Slow
- When the Recovery Console runs as non privileged User on a Windows Admin PC, i cant see all Files because of missing ntfs rights.

any Tips?

Best Regards,

bernd
bernd.dausch
Service Provider
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 7:17 pm
Full Name: Bernd Dausch

Re: VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon May 30, 2016 9:48 am

Hello Bernd. Depending on the restore option (restore to original location or copying files to some other folder), the actual restore process is using different servers for mounting backup files. In case of restore to original location, mount to remote console is used with the purpose of browsing file system only, actual restore should go through the mount to repository server. What kind of restore are you using?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] Veeam FLR question

Veeam Logoby clement.cromology » Tue May 31, 2016 11:19 am

Hello,

I have a question concerning the FLR process. My setup is the following :

Backup and replication server on the main site
Backup and replication console on the main site
Backup proxy and repository on the remote site
VMware infrastructure on the remote site

When attempting a FLR from the remote site repository, through the remote site proxy, to a VM on the remote site VMware infrastructure using the backup console on the main site, it looks like the restored file do not transit directly from the remote site backup proxy to the remote site target VM but through the main site backup and replication console.

I suspect that because :
- the restore process is very slow, as if it was transitionning through the WAN
- in the FLR log, I see both the backup and replication console host and the remote proxy indicated as being used as mount server

Thanks.
clement.cromology
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 11:11 am
Full Name: Clement ODOT

Re: Veeam FLR question

Veeam Logoby PTide » Tue May 31, 2016 11:35 am

Hi,

Have you tried to specify the proxy as a mount server in repository settings?

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue May 31, 2016 12:31 pm

Clement, what specific restore option are you using - restore to original VM or the Copy To function? See above for the answers to similar questions.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Veeam Logoby clement.cromology » Tue May 31, 2016 2:09 pm

I was using the "Restore to original VM". The restore was several thousand files large though. Might just be related to the command and control repeated for each file on a medium latency link.
clement.cromology
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 11:11 am
Full Name: Clement ODOT

Re: VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue May 31, 2016 3:52 pm

What kind of repository is involved (Windows/Linux/CIFS/Dedupe)? Restore of thousands of files could indeed be slow, however, actual traffic should be local in case of restore to original location (unless, for example, repository gateway server is located in the main site).
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Veeam Logoby bernd.dausch » Tue May 31, 2016 8:32 pm

@foogy:
we use the "copy the files to a other folder" option
bernd.dausch
Service Provider
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 7:17 pm
Full Name: Bernd Dausch

Re: VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue May 31, 2016 9:43 pm

Then the fact that the backup is mounted to the server running console during the actual restore is expected.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] FLR Mount Server Selection

Veeam Logoby IainKnott » Mon Dec 12, 2016 12:11 pm

How can we specify which mount server is used to perform file level restores?

I've just experienced a very slow restore, due to a poor choice of mount server having been selected, but cannot find a way to select a better one.

In my case a off-site backup was mounted to the onsite console via Veeam Power NFS.

From the backup guide, it would appear the repository server (Windows), which has also the mount service should have been chosen, and this would have been ideal.

posting.php?mode=post&f=2

"Backup repository. For Microsoft Windows backup repositories, the mount server role is assigned to the backup repository server itself."

"If you do not want to use default mount servers, you can assign the mount server role to any Microsoft Windows machine in the backup infrastructure. It is recommended that you configure at least one mount server in each site and associate this mount server with the backup repository residing in this site. The mount server and backup repository must be located as close to each other as possible. In this case, you will be able to keep the VM traffic in one site."

So I'm aiming for the windows server hosting the backup repository to be the chosen mount server, keeping Veeam Power NFS on-site, then only copying the chosen files across the WAN.

I've raised a ticket with support, who suggested installing the console at the remote site, which should get around this issue, but this means installing multiple consoles at multiple sites, and remembering to login to the correct ones.

Shouldn't it be possible to manage all of this from a single console? My understanding from the release notes implies this.
IainKnott
Service Provider
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 8:22 am
Full Name: Iain

Re: VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Dec 12, 2016 12:29 pm

Hi Iain, please review this thread for specifics of the mount server selection.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Veeam Logoby IainKnott » Mon Dec 12, 2016 1:11 pm

So for File Level Restores, the mount server has to be where Veeam Explorer is running?

Can we change this behaviour, perhaps raise a new feature request?

From a backup perspective, we can manage from a single remote console, specify the source, the destination and choose to offload the processing to a specific proxy. Can we have the same functionality for restores? I.e. Specifying the mount Server then letting Veeam Explorer connect remotely to browse and issue restore commands?
IainKnott
Service Provider
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 8:22 am
Full Name: Iain

Re: VBR Console => Restore Proxy?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Dec 12, 2016 2:08 pm

If you're performing restore to original location, during actual restore the backup file is mounted to the mount server specified for the repository. Mount to remote console is performed only for browsing prior to restore. What specific restore option are you using - restore to original VM or the Copy To function?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] File-Restore directly from backup-proxy/repository

Veeam Logoby gfish » Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:29 am

Dear Veeam Friends,

My Configuration:
SITE 1:
Server with Veeam Backup Repository & Backup Proxy installed, Backup located on that reposoitry

SITE 2:
Veeam Management Server (console)

between those sites there is an WAN Connection.

When i try to do a file level restore to Site 1 - i think the traffic goes;
Site1-backup repository -> managementserver Site 2 -> produktion system site 1.

is there an option to get the file-level restore directly run on site 1 ?
I think for full vm restore it's possible to choose the proxy server.

thanks for your suggestions!
gfish
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2014 12:39 pm

Re: File-Restore directly from backup-proxy/repository

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:45 am

Hi,

You should deploy a Mount server close to the backup repository in case you want to restore files to the original location.
If it will be new location, then VBR mounts vm disks in the backup server or the console where you initiate the restore.

Please review this thread for additional information. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 386
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 60 guests