Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
jmanalo
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 26, 2018 1:14 pm
Contact:

VBR Free + Agent Paid need to be domain joined?

Post by jmanalo » Apr 18, 2018 1:04 pm

Good day.
We're about to implement Veeam Agent paid with license to be managed by Veeam B&R Free.
We're using samba on linux as our PDC and another ADS domain just for Exchange on the same network. Hypervisor is KVM that's why we will use the agent. We will start to backup AD, Exchange and MySQL vms.
Is it a requirement that the agents and VBR be on the same domain?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1544 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VBR Free + Agent Paid need to be domain joined?

Post by foggy » Apr 18, 2018 1:18 pm

No, there's no such a requirement.

jmanalo
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 26, 2018 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: VBR Free + Agent Paid need to be domain joined?

Post by jmanalo » Apr 18, 2018 1:36 pm

Meaning Veeam B&R can be a member of our samba domain or AD or no domain membership at all? And both linux and MS vms from either domain can use Veeam B&R's disks as backup destination? And we can fully use application-aware processing?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24674
Liked: 3475 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VBR Free + Agent Paid need to be domain joined?

Post by Gostev » Apr 18, 2018 1:39 pm

That is correct.

jmanalo
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 26, 2018 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: VBR Free + Agent Paid need to be domain joined?

Post by jmanalo » Apr 18, 2018 1:41 pm

Thanks a lot for confirmation.
Have a good day!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], emil.davis, Google [Bot], lperezg and 49 guests