Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Suderman
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

VCB backup problems

Post by Suderman »

Hello,

I'm evaluating Veeam Backup for VI3 and I have problems with backing up VM's using VCB. I'm using ESX 3.5 / VC 2.5.

I have installed Veeam on VCP Proxy Server. Normally VCB works without problems but using Veeam job I'm getting error:

Vcb error: Error: Other error encountered: No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it.

Any ideas ?

Thanks.

Atkatch
Expert
Posts: 212
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Post by Atkatch »

Thank you for your request.

It would be helpful if you forward us all logs (Help->Support information): support@veeam.com
Please give us a short description of your environment.

One more question: could you start VCB manually when you failed to backup with our tool?

Suderman
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Post by Suderman »

Thanks for the reply.

I have send You my logs.
My environment is ESC 3.5 / VC 2.5.
I have installed Veeam Backup on VCB Proxy which is W2k3 Enterprise SP2.

If I start VCB manually it's ok but when I connect to VC I use port 444
so the manual command look like this:
vcbmounter -h vc:444 -u <username> -p <password> -a ipaddr:<VM name> -r <Location> -t <Backup_type>

... and it works


Probably Veeam use port 443 even If I change it the GUI.

Thanks.

Atkatch
Expert
Posts: 212
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Post by Atkatch »

Thank you for reporting the issue.
We haven't fixed the port change while using VCB.

We will fix it in our next update that will be released by the end of the month or in the beginning of the next month.

Please let us know if you need this fix quickly, or you can wait until the release of the update?

Suderman
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Post by Suderman »

Ok good to know .. well it could be nice to have it little bit earlier than at the of this month ...

... but it's up to You if You share it with me or not.


Thanks

Suderman
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Post by Suderman »

Hello,

I've seen that some update has been released on May 28th.

Before there was an issue that Backup using VCB didn't work when You connect to VC using non-standard port (443) - in my case 444

is it fixed now ?


Thanks.

Atkatch
Expert
Posts: 212
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Post by Atkatch »

We are planning to release the new version Q3 due to lot of the features we are going to implement.

ezra
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 18, 2009 7:18 am
Full Name: Ezra van Dort
Contact:

Re: VCB backup problems

Post by ezra »

Hi.
This still seems to be a problem. My logs show that the vcbmounter command is not including the :9443 port extension when connecting to VC (localhost) and so failing with "connection actively refused".

Browsing around the datacentre works fine, so this is partially working. Just doesn't seem to get through to the processing batch phase.

Regards
Ezra

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VCB backup problems

Post by Gostev »

Hello Ezra, I don't recall similar reports for the past year since the previous post in this thread, so presumably it should not be a problem since version 2.0. It would be best if you contact our support and provide all logs from Help | Support Information so that we could investigate this. Thank you.

aevenot
Enthusiast
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 07, 2009 9:14 am
Full Name: aevenot
Contact:

Re: VCB backup problems

Post by aevenot »

Hi,

I'm using veeam_backup_3.1.0.278 and vcenter 2.5. vCenter use a different port for the web service so I configured this port through the Veeam GUI but it seems it doesn't work.

I can connect to the vcenter and esx host through the gui but all the backup I take failed.

If I changed the webservice port used for my vcenter to 443, all the backup success.

I think, Veeam Backup can not work with a vcenter port other than 443.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VCB backup problems

Post by Gostev »

Hello, to use VCB with VCs or ESXs running on non-default port the following registry entry need to be added:

Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\VeeaM\Veeam Backup and FastSCP
Name: VcbPort
Type: DWORD
Value: [vcenter-port-number-in-hexidecimal-format]

aevenot
Enthusiast
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 07, 2009 9:14 am
Full Name: aevenot
Contact:

Re: VCB backup problems

Post by aevenot »

Ok thanks for the workaround, I'll test this soon.

For now, I have changed the default port used by vCenter and all my backup are successful.

darylhunter
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 28, 2009 3:40 am
Full Name: Daryl Hunter
Contact:

Re: VCB backup problems

Post by darylhunter »

I can confirm this is still a problem in Veeam Backup v3.1 and it's been causing me grief the last few days.

The Registry hack here does workaround running vCenter on a non-standard port and allowing VCB to connect correctly.

--DW

ezra
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 18, 2009 7:18 am
Full Name: Ezra van Dort
Contact:

Re: VCB backup problems

Post by ezra »

Thanks Gostev

I'd try out your hack, but already have a workaround - rebuilt the VC server to use standard ports (HP SIM wasn't doing anything useful with them).

Ezra

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], HugoHew, JRRW and 22 guests