Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
bunger
Expert
Posts: 117
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Jun 23, 2010 5:39 pm
Full Name: Bill Unger
Contact:

vCenter VM Replication - failed - No VMs to Backup

Post by bunger » Nov 24, 2010 7:55 pm

I have a created a replication job to replicate my vCenter VM from a SAN to a local datastore. I am running ESX 4.1 and Veeam 5.0 Enterprise.

I have created the job to use Network Mode and added the target server as an IP - basically followed the previous postings on how to do this. But when I run the job, it fails with this:

0 of 0 VMs processed (0 failed, 0 warnings)

Total size of VMs to backup: 0.00 KB
Processed size: 0.00 KB
Processing rate: 0 KB/s
Start time: 11/24/2010 2:50:31 PM
End time: 11/24/2010 2:51:08 PM
Duration: 0:00:37

There are no VMs to backup

Any thoughts would be very much appreciated!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22993
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: vCenter VM Replication - failed - No VMs to Backup

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 24, 2010 9:28 pm

Hello Bill, do you possibly have vCenter Server running on the same VM as your Veeam Backup server?

bunger
Expert
Posts: 117
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Jun 23, 2010 5:39 pm
Full Name: Bill Unger
Contact:

Re: vCenter VM Replication - failed - No VMs to Backup

Post by bunger » Nov 24, 2010 10:05 pm

Yes, I do... Same VM.

I had it working with Veeam 4 and removed it before the upgrade for testing other items....

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22993
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: vCenter VM Replication - failed - No VMs to Backup

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 24, 2010 10:28 pm

Bill, that's an expected behaviour, for more infromation please check out the link below, as you may want to apply the corresponding hotfix:
Veeam 5 in VM backing up itself

bunger
Expert
Posts: 117
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Jun 23, 2010 5:39 pm
Full Name: Bill Unger
Contact:

Re: vCenter VM Replication - failed - No VMs to Backup

Post by bunger » Nov 24, 2010 10:51 pm

Thanks! After reading that thread, it appears I need to open a support case to obtain the hotfix. Is that still accurate?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24797
Liked: 3554 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: vCenter VM Replication - failed - No VMs to Backup

Post by Gostev » Nov 24, 2010 11:59 pm

Sure. Thanks!

bunger
Expert
Posts: 117
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Jun 23, 2010 5:39 pm
Full Name: Bill Unger
Contact:

Re: vCenter VM Replication - failed - No VMs to Backup

Post by bunger » Dec 13, 2010 3:14 pm

Gostev - I have submitted 2 support tickets and have not yet received a response. Is there another way to obtain the hotfix?

tia,
Bill

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22993
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: vCenter VM Replication - failed - No VMs to Backup

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 13, 2010 3:27 pm

Bill, please upgrade to the most recent version (5.0.1), as it contains the hotfix mentioned above. Also please check out your spam filter, as I clearly see that your ticket has been replied within half an hour after your original email.

bunger
Expert
Posts: 117
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Jun 23, 2010 5:39 pm
Full Name: Bill Unger
Contact:

Re: vCenter VM Replication - failed - No VMs to Backup

Post by bunger » Dec 13, 2010 3:50 pm

Interesting... I did check my spam filter and didn't see it, but just installed the 5.0.1 version... thanks for the assistance!!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: edirschedl and 44 guests