Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Post Reply
zadrian
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 14, 2015 8:26 am
Contact:

Veeam 9 Enterprise Manager - Revoke License Hang

Post by zadrian » Jan 27, 2016 8:52 am

Hi, I have only just upgraded from Veeam 8.0.8026 to the version 9.

I have 3 sites : HQ servers 5x ESXi hosts (2 CPU each) + 1 ESXi host (2 CPU, used to house replicas), Site 1 servers 1x ESXi host (1 CPU each) + 1 ESXi host (1 CPU, used to house replicas) and Site 2 servers 1x ESXi host (1 CPU each) + 1 ESXi host (1 CPU, used to house replicas). I have 13 Veeam CPU licenses as I kept 1 as spare.

I do have this issue when I first logged into the Enterprise manager which shows I was out of license.
Somehow after the upgrade, I see that Veeam has used 14 CPUs by adding the HQ host which was used to store the Veeam replica into the mix.
I tried to revoke the ESXi host's license but a pop-up that says "wait'" with a recurring progress bar appeared and stayed there for almost 45 minutes until I restarted the browser (Chrome).

Please kindly advise if this this normal ?
Also how can I prevent the accidental deployment of license as I am the only person managing the Veeam solution and I do not remember issuing any veeam license to the ESXi hosts.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 5970
Liked: 521 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam 9 Enterprise Manager - Revoke License Hang

Post by Shestakov » Jan 27, 2016 9:03 am

Hi
zadrian wrote:Somehow after the upgrade, I see that Veeam has used 14 CPUs by adding the HQ host which was used to store the Veeam replica into the mix.
I tried to revoke the ESXi host's license but a pop-up that says "wait'" with a recurring progress bar appeared and stayed there for almost 45 minutes until I restarted the browser (Chrome).
Please kindly advise if this this normal ?
That doesn`t seem normal. Please contact technical support to investigate it.
zadrian wrote:Also how can I prevent the accidental deployment of license as I am the only person managing the Veeam solution and I do not remember issuing any veeam license to the ESXi hosts.
Not sure what you meant here. The only way license can be deployed automatically, if you select "Update license key automatically" checkbox.
Thanks!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16836
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam 9 Enterprise Manager - Revoke License Hang

Post by foggy » Jan 27, 2016 4:30 pm

License is assigned to the host once you start actually backing up/replicating VMs residing on it. So check whether you have/had any jobs that contain VMs on this host.

DeadEyedJacks
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 109
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 2:55 pm
Full Name: DeadEyedJacks
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Veeam 9 Enterprise Manager - Revoke License Hang

Post by DeadEyedJacks » Mar 02, 2016 1:07 pm

Just to add that I too have experienced the Enterprise Manager just hanging and not revoking a license. This is with Firefox 44.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16836
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam 9 Enterprise Manager - Revoke License Hang

Post by foggy » Mar 02, 2016 1:41 pm

David, do you still observe this behavior and have you contacted support with this issue?

Strecker25
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jan 17, 2016 6:18 pm
Full Name: Ryan Strecker
Contact:

Re: Veeam 9 Enterprise Manager - Revoke License Hang

Post by Strecker25 » Mar 03, 2016 5:45 pm

I have a call in 15 minutes with support for the same exact issue. Two hosts show unlicensed in the enterprise manager and I cannot remove them

DeadEyedJacks
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 109
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 2:55 pm
Full Name: DeadEyedJacks
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Veeam 9 Enterprise Manager - Revoke License Hang

Post by DeadEyedJacks » Mar 04, 2016 11:37 am

Hi Foggy, currently working on a couple of other issues with Veeam support, will revisit license management in due course.

(NB The need to have a single enterprise wide license file with a single version and edition has forced a design rethink)

Strecker25
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jan 17, 2016 6:18 pm
Full Name: Ryan Strecker
Contact:

Re: Veeam 9 Enterprise Manager - Revoke License Hang

Post by Strecker25 » Mar 04, 2016 2:42 pm 1 person likes this post

We resolved the issue by deleted the reg key under HKLM>Software>Veeeam>Veeam Backup & Replication>License. I believe it was called lic or something, 32 bit dword.

Once deleted the product goes unlicensed and I re imported our license file. A reboot of the server cleared that error from Ent manager.

DeadEyedJacks
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 109
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 2:55 pm
Full Name: DeadEyedJacks
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Veeam 9 Enterprise Manager - Revoke License Hang

Post by DeadEyedJacks » Mar 15, 2016 12:39 pm

OK, have opened a support case 01730208 to see if there's a way to get revoke license functionality working.

Bunce
Expert
Posts: 258
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sep 18, 2009 9:56 am
Full Name: Andrew
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Veeam 9 Enterprise Manager - Revoke License Hang

Post by Bunce » Nov 22, 2017 9:12 am

Old post but happens to us often -pretty much whenever we do a hardware refresh, and the old host is decomissioned.

We generally give new hosts, new names and therefore attempt to revoke the decomissioned host.

My guess is that the code needs the host that is being revoked to be online - if not it hangs.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16836
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam 9 Enterprise Manager - Revoke License Hang

Post by foggy » Nov 22, 2017 3:34 pm

Hi Andrew, you can ask support to clean up unneeded entries from the database to address that.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 46 guests