Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Bowie1979
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 18, 2012 1:00 pm
Full Name: Scott Fuller
Contact:

Veeam at DR site and Backup Proxy at main site

Post by Bowie1979 » Oct 19, 2012 2:20 pm

Hi all,

I have veeam installed on a server at our DR site which also holds the backup repository. The DR site is 100MB fibre linked to our main site. Should I have a Backup Proxy set up at the main site in this scenario? I'm not too worried about offloading CPU workload, but wondered whether it will speed up backups, or if i should just leave as it is.

many thanks,
Scott

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18239
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam at DR site and Backup Proxy at main site

Post by foggy » Oct 19, 2012 2:32 pm

Scott, you should definitely set up the backup proxy at the main site closer to the data source to leverage fast data retrieval modes. Please see the architecture section of the product user guide for better understanding. Thanks!

Bowie1979
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 18, 2012 1:00 pm
Full Name: Scott Fuller
Contact:

Re: Veeam at DR site and Backup Proxy at main site

Post by Bowie1979 » Oct 19, 2012 2:38 pm

Thank you for the fast response, I had read those sections but I wasn't too sure as its the other way round to the examples given, having Veeam installed at the DR site rather than the main site. I will set up the proxy now!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Ivan_B, ncapponi and 57 guests