Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Post Reply
AlexLeadingEdge
Expert
Posts: 246
Liked: 28 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 9:42 pm
Contact:

Veeam B&R 9.5 Free - Not Enough Licenses Error

Post by AlexLeadingEdge » Aug 08, 2017 1:54 am

Hi guys,

Just playing around with Veeam B&R 9.5 Free Edition. I have a repository (Veeam B&R default), but I'm trying to connect a Veeam Agent to the repository but I get the error:

Unable to obtain a Veeam Agent for Windows license from the backup server.
Not enough licenses on Veeam Backup & Replication server.


Is using a repository for a Veeam Agent outside of the free edition licence? Or have I missed something?

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15058
Liked: 1131 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R 9.5 Free - Not Enough Licenses Error

Post by v.Eremin » Aug 08, 2017 9:56 am

You have to have either VAW or VB&R paid license in order for the described scenario to work. Thanks.

AlexLeadingEdge
Expert
Posts: 246
Liked: 28 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 9:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R 9.5 Free - Not Enough Licenses Error

Post by AlexLeadingEdge » Aug 09, 2017 2:21 am

v.Eremin wrote:You have to have either VAW or VB&R paid license in order for the described scenario to work. Thanks.
The VAW is licensed with a Workstation Edition licence.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15058
Liked: 1131 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R 9.5 Free - Not Enough Licenses Error

Post by v.Eremin » Aug 09, 2017 5:04 pm

Try to assign it to backup server and see whether it solves the issue. Thanks.

Technogod
Expert
Posts: 119
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Apr 11, 2017 3:52 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R 9.5 Free - Not Enough Licenses Error

Post by Technogod » Aug 10, 2017 12:50 am

I have also experienced this problem. B&R also needs to be licensed or you can have a B&R license and Agent free but not the other way around.

tdewin
Veeam Software
Posts: 1301
Liked: 426 times
Joined: Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
Full Name: Timothy Dewin
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R 9.5 Free - Not Enough Licenses Error

Post by tdewin » Aug 10, 2017 7:16 am 1 person likes this post

You can use the free edition of B&R with agents but as Vladimir stated, in this case, you need to add the agent license to the backup server. If you want some screenshots:
http://blog.dewin.me/2017/04/gathering- ... veeam.html

Technogod
Expert
Posts: 119
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Apr 11, 2017 3:52 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R 9.5 Free - Not Enough Licenses Error

Post by Technogod » Aug 11, 2017 11:10 am 1 person likes this post

I removed license from B&R and added Agent license. I was able to backup to B&R repository. This works, sorry for the misinformation.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15058
Liked: 1131 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R 9.5 Free - Not Enough Licenses Error

Post by v.Eremin » Aug 11, 2017 11:38 am

No worries, it's a new functionality, no wonder it took sometime and side recommendations to clarify initial confusion. Feel free to ask for additional help, if needed. Thanks.

Technogod
Expert
Posts: 119
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Apr 11, 2017 3:52 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R 9.5 Free - Not Enough Licenses Error

Post by Technogod » Aug 11, 2017 7:06 pm

I have reproduced the not enough licenses error by licensing B&R and Agent free. It looks like Agent must be licensed.

Technogod
Expert
Posts: 119
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Apr 11, 2017 3:52 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R 9.5 Free - Not Enough Licenses Error

Post by Technogod » Aug 12, 2017 3:04 am 1 person likes this post

I had to revoke all licenses and remove all licenses from B&R server. Run -removelicense all command to get server back to square one. Now I can license B&R and use Agent free. Whew! I also was able to use B&R free and Agent license. I'm finally able to prove one or the other needs to be licensed. Yeah!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], david.tosoff, erohver, GaryVersluis and 18 guests