Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
nzorn
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 13, 2014 2:57 pm
Contact:

Veeam B&R New Setup with QNAP - CIFS or iSCSI?

Post by nzorn » Jan 05, 2015 9:39 pm

I've been reading a lot of threads on here and it seems that everyone is either using CIFS or iSCSI when setting up a new backup repository with a QNAP (TS-EC2480U-RP). Some people are saying to use CIFS and others are saying to use iSCSI.

So I guess either will work, but what would you choose if you were to configure it all again from scratch?

pawel
Enthusiast
Posts: 37
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Nov 20, 2014 10:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R New Setup with QNAP - CIFS or iSCSI?

Post by pawel » Jan 05, 2015 10:27 pm

I don't have the QNAP but I have a Synology. CIFS performance was horrible for me, many backups would fail and those ones that didn't ran at 1-5MB/s. iSCSI works great on the other hand (50-100MB/s with no errors in the month it's been running).

Some have looked at installing the agent directly to the NAS device if it runs Linux. I only looked at this from the Synology perspective but if your device has Linux on it that meets the Veeam requirements you may be able to get the agent running on there directly, this will give you even better performance.

d.lansinklesscher
Service Provider
Posts: 42
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Aug 29, 2014 12:53 pm
Full Name: Dennis Lansink
Location: Hengelo, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R New Setup with QNAP - CIFS or iSCSI?

Post by d.lansinklesscher » Jan 05, 2015 11:18 pm 1 person likes this post

See the last posts of this topic on how to run the Linux datamover on a Qnap nas:

http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=1 ... a&start=15

Running the datamover on the nas gives you the highest transferspeeds and offloads file merging to the nas. But beware that the box has sufficient memory. But looking at the specs of the box you mentioned that won't be a problem.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 23636
Liked: 3123 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R New Setup with QNAP - CIFS or iSCSI?

Post by Gostev » Jan 06, 2015 12:47 pm

Indeed, data mover running directly on NAS is the best way in terms of both performance and reliability of backups.

Moebius
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 144
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Jun 09, 2009 2:48 pm
Full Name: Lucio Mazzi
Location: Reggio Emilia, Italy
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R New Setup with QNAP - CIFS or iSCSI?

Post by Moebius » Jun 17, 2016 12:03 pm

Revamping this thread.
Has anybody succeeded in running the Linux datamover on a Qnap with 4.2 firmware?

According to the last posts (Jun 1, 2016) of this thread:
http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=1 ... 3&start=30
the solution previously used doesn't work anymore after the firmware update.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: douglas.fernandes and 71 guests