Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
JamesNT
Enthusiast
Posts: 28
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Feb 15, 2016 2:28 pm
Full Name: James Summerlin
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Post by JamesNT » May 05, 2016 1:35 pm

And when do we know when domain recovery is completed?

Since we have only two domain controllers, is that when both have been rebooted twice, one after the other? Is there a specific entry in the event log we should see?

JamesNT

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16821
Liked: 1358 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Post by foggy » May 05, 2016 1:43 pm

Yes, after the second reboot and making sure both DC's operate fine and replication works normally.

JamesNT
Enthusiast
Posts: 28
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Feb 15, 2016 2:28 pm
Full Name: James Summerlin
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Post by JamesNT » May 05, 2016 2:49 pm

foggy,

Thank you very much. :)

James

pidthepiper
Enthusiast
Posts: 80
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Aug 11, 2015 9:10 am
Full Name: Bilal AHmed
Contact:

[MERGED] application aware restore of multiple DCs

Post by pidthepiper » May 13, 2016 10:53 am

OK everybody dont panic!

Basically management asked me a question, and I was wondering if anyone had actually done it.

Lets say we increased our domain level from 2003 to 2008 and for some reason we wanted to roll back.....

Could we turn off the current DCs and restore our application aware backups of all the DCs from when the functional level was at 2003 and be back up and running?

Random I know........ :D

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16821
Liked: 1358 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Post by foggy » May 13, 2016 10:55 am

Yes, please see the KB mentioned above for details on the restore procedure.

guidoakd
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: May 06, 2016 3:44 pm
Full Name: Guido G
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Post by guidoakd » May 13, 2016 4:25 pm

I'am lost with all the opinions haha!

¿Is it possibly to restore a DC with Veeam? In spite of being replicating with anotherone... when you restore the machine... ¿they re-replicates properly? ¿Anything changes if the DC corrupted is the one what has all the roles?

Today i'm doing the backups with the Security Copy of windows.. with the system state.. ¿Does Veeam replace it?

Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16821
Liked: 1358 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Post by foggy » May 17, 2016 3:39 pm

Guido, I've already replied in another thread, please review the KB describing all the DC recovery scenarios and feel free to ask any additional questions, if required. Thanks.

guidoakd
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: May 06, 2016 3:44 pm
Full Name: Guido G
Contact:

[MERGED] Problem Restoring DC Authoritative Database

Post by guidoakd » Jun 30, 2016 10:36 pm

Hi everybody.
I am following this KB https://www.veeam.com/kb2119 and in particulary the scenario #3, which is the one you try to restore a damaged/corrupted DC.
After reeboting and making the non-authoritative restore, when i go to the command prompt on DSRM mode i have some issues:
At first, the instance is not activated, so i activate with: "Activate instance ntds"
But the problem appears when I try to restore the database. The line that says:
6. At the "ntdsutil authoritative restore:" prompt, type "restore database" and press Enter.
It returns "invalid syntax". If i go to the help menu, i can see that the option restore database doesn't exists (only restore object and restore subtree). Over there i don't know what to do or write.

Does anyone to how to make it work?

Thanks very much.

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21523
Liked: 1281 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Problem Restoring DC Authoritative Database

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 01, 2016 4:05 pm

Hi Guido,

What DC version are you trying to restore? Do you have the same behavior for all restore points?

Thanks!

guidoakd
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: May 06, 2016 3:44 pm
Full Name: Guido G
Contact:

Re: Problem Restoring DC Authoritative Database

Post by guidoakd » Jul 01, 2016 4:14 pm

Hi.. my version of DC is 6.3.9600.16384
It is a Windows Server 2012 R2
I've "corrupted" the laboratory DC by using the command SYSPREP.. i don't know if it was a letal weapon haha, but i think it is independent of this command that i can't execute.
(Any other suggestion to corrupt a DC?))

I only tried with one restore point, now im going to try with anotherone.

Thanks

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21523
Liked: 1281 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 01, 2016 4:34 pm

I believe "the corruption" method should not matter here ;) Yes, as a first troubleshooting step I would suggest to verify you're using AAIP for the backup job, and then try another restore point. If the issue still persists, then I would recommend contacting our support team for reviewing the debug info.

millahjovich
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 05, 2016 9:40 am
Full Name: Millah Jovich
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Post by millahjovich » Jul 05, 2016 11:02 am

I have just run my DC 2008 from a Backup and start the machine and entered F8 to go to the DSRM,, it logs fine and asked for the local username. I poovided the local user name of the DSRM but it didn't restore successfully. How can I restore the DC / Run it from Backup?
Hello I Am Millah

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21523
Liked: 1281 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 05, 2016 11:57 am

if you've tried to follow the guidelines from this KB article and still cannot restore the DC VM, then please contact our support team for logs review.

ftbug
Enthusiast
Posts: 59
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Nov 18, 2015 10:12 am
Full Name: Freddie
Contact:

[MERGED] Active directory issues after VM restore

Post by ftbug » Sep 07, 2016 11:27 am

Hi, When we restore a DC into a different environment, we are unable to start any DC services and are unable to open sites and services, with the error stating that the domain does not exist or cannot be contacted.

When this DC is replicated into another environment within vsphere, the services start and we are able to clear the AD environment up and resolve the issues, so it seems that the restore is what is causing the issue within active directory

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16821
Liked: 1358 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Post by foggy » Sep 07, 2016 11:44 am

How do you perform DC recovery? Do you have application-aware image processing enabled in the backup job? Please review the KB mentioned above for a better understanding of DC recovery processes.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alex.mihai, BrentBPPI, darmarko and 55 guests