Veeam B&R recovery of a domain controller

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Veeam Logoby JamesNT » Thu May 05, 2016 1:35 pm

And when do we know when domain recovery is completed?

Since we have only two domain controllers, is that when both have been rebooted twice, one after the other? Is there a specific entry in the event log we should see?

JamesNT
JamesNT
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2016 2:28 pm
Full Name: James Summerlin

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu May 05, 2016 1:43 pm

Yes, after the second reboot and making sure both DC's operate fine and replication works normally.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 16008
Liked: 1223 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Veeam Logoby JamesNT » Thu May 05, 2016 2:49 pm

foggy,

Thank you very much. :)

James
JamesNT
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2016 2:28 pm
Full Name: James Summerlin

[MERGED] application aware restore of multiple DCs

Veeam Logoby pidthepiper » Fri May 13, 2016 10:53 am

OK everybody dont panic!

Basically management asked me a question, and I was wondering if anyone had actually done it.

Lets say we increased our domain level from 2003 to 2008 and for some reason we wanted to roll back.....

Could we turn off the current DCs and restore our application aware backups of all the DCs from when the functional level was at 2003 and be back up and running?

Random I know........ :D
pidthepiper
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 76
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:10 am
Full Name: Bilal AHmed

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri May 13, 2016 10:55 am

Yes, please see the KB mentioned above for details on the restore procedure.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 16008
Liked: 1223 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Veeam Logoby guidoakd » Fri May 13, 2016 4:25 pm

I'am lost with all the opinions haha!

¿Is it possibly to restore a DC with Veeam? In spite of being replicating with anotherone... when you restore the machine... ¿they re-replicates properly? ¿Anything changes if the DC corrupted is the one what has all the roles?

Today i'm doing the backups with the Security Copy of windows.. with the system state.. ¿Does Veeam replace it?

Thanks
guidoakd
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 3:44 pm
Full Name: Guido G

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue May 17, 2016 3:39 pm

Guido, I've already replied in another thread, please review the KB describing all the DC recovery scenarios and feel free to ask any additional questions, if required. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 16008
Liked: 1223 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] Problem Restoring DC Authoritative Database

Veeam Logoby guidoakd » Thu Jun 30, 2016 10:36 pm

Hi everybody.
I am following this KB https://www.veeam.com/kb2119 and in particulary the scenario #3, which is the one you try to restore a damaged/corrupted DC.
After reeboting and making the non-authoritative restore, when i go to the command prompt on DSRM mode i have some issues:
At first, the instance is not activated, so i activate with: "Activate instance ntds"
But the problem appears when I try to restore the database. The line that says:
6. At the "ntdsutil authoritative restore:" prompt, type "restore database" and press Enter.
It returns "invalid syntax". If i go to the help menu, i can see that the option restore database doesn't exists (only restore object and restore subtree). Over there i don't know what to do or write.

Does anyone to how to make it work?

Thanks very much.
guidoakd
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 3:44 pm
Full Name: Guido G

Re: Problem Restoring DC Authoritative Database

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jul 01, 2016 4:05 pm

Hi Guido,

What DC version are you trying to restore? Do you have the same behavior for all restore points?

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20754
Liked: 1226 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Problem Restoring DC Authoritative Database

Veeam Logoby guidoakd » Fri Jul 01, 2016 4:14 pm

Hi.. my version of DC is 6.3.9600.16384
It is a Windows Server 2012 R2
I've "corrupted" the laboratory DC by using the command SYSPREP.. i don't know if it was a letal weapon haha, but i think it is independent of this command that i can't execute.
(Any other suggestion to corrupt a DC?))

I only tried with one restore point, now im going to try with anotherone.

Thanks
guidoakd
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 3:44 pm
Full Name: Guido G

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jul 01, 2016 4:34 pm

I believe "the corruption" method should not matter here ;) Yes, as a first troubleshooting step I would suggest to verify you're using AAIP for the backup job, and then try another restore point. If the issue still persists, then I would recommend contacting our support team for reviewing the debug info.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20754
Liked: 1226 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Veeam Logoby millahjovich » Tue Jul 05, 2016 11:02 am

I have just run my DC 2008 from a Backup and start the machine and entered F8 to go to the DSRM,, it logs fine and asked for the local username. I poovided the local user name of the DSRM but it didn't restore successfully. How can I restore the DC / Run it from Backup?
Hello I Am Millah
millahjovich
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:40 am
Full Name: Millah Jovich

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jul 05, 2016 11:57 am

if you've tried to follow the guidelines from this KB article and still cannot restore the DC VM, then please contact our support team for logs review.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20754
Liked: 1226 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

[MERGED] Active directory issues after VM restore

Veeam Logoby ftbug » Wed Sep 07, 2016 11:27 am

Hi, When we restore a DC into a different environment, we are unable to start any DC services and are unable to open sites and services, with the error stating that the domain does not exist or cannot be contacted.

When this DC is replicated into another environment within vsphere, the services start and we are able to clear the AD environment up and resolve the issues, so it seems that the restore is what is causing the issue within active directory
ftbug
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 59
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 10:12 am
Full Name: Freddie

Re: Veeam B&R v5 recovery of a domain controller

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Sep 07, 2016 11:44 am

How do you perform DC recovery? Do you have application-aware image processing enabled in the backup job? Please review the KB mentioned above for a better understanding of DC recovery processes.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 16008
Liked: 1223 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest