Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
NightBird
Service Provider
Posts: 175
Liked: 32 times
Joined: Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE
Contact:

Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by NightBird » Jan 12, 2016 9:44 am 3 people like this post

Check your Veeam portal :)

https://www.veeam.com/backup-replication-download.html


Have a lot of fun

Boris

kawiMTF
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 119
Liked: 28 times
Joined: Jan 06, 2015 10:03 am
Full Name: Karl Widmer
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by kawiMTF » Jan 12, 2016 9:49 am 1 person likes this post

Just saw it two minutes ago and can't wait to implement it at my customer, forward looking at advantages in direct NFS access and per-VM backup chains to saturate the links for backup and replication :)
Best regards,
Karl

-----------------------
Veeam Platinum Partner
Veeam Vanguard / VMCE v9 / VMTSP v9 / VMSP v9
vExpert / VCA6-DVC / VCA5-DVC / VCA5-Cloud
MCP / MCSA 2012
Personal blog: https://www.driftar.ch
Twitter: @widmerkarl

lxk3il
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 27
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Sep 10, 2015 11:23 am
Full Name: Lukas
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by lxk3il » Jan 12, 2016 10:45 am 1 person likes this post

Great Work! Cant wait to test it out :)
Thanks for you hard work, veeam team!

smarechal
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by smarechal » Jan 12, 2016 10:48 am 1 person likes this post

Thank you, i'm downloading it!

pnikies
Service Provider
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: May 28, 2010 12:27 pm
Full Name: Roman David
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by pnikies » Jan 12, 2016 10:49 am

Thank you, could we have the complete what's new / release notes ?

Pat490
Expert
Posts: 160
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Apr 28, 2015 7:18 am
Full Name: Patrick
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by Pat490 » Jan 12, 2016 11:03 am 1 person likes this post


PenguinSSH
Enthusiast
Posts: 28
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Feb 26, 2015 7:19 pm
Full Name: PenguinSSH
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by PenguinSSH » Jan 12, 2016 11:34 am

Just an FYI, we received a 502 bad gateway error when when try to sign in or download B&R9

EDIT: Nevermind, it was fixed just now :) Currently downloading this piece of cake XD

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2618
Liked: 539 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by nielsengelen » Jan 12, 2016 11:37 am

Lot's of people jumping on it ;-)
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

lxk3il
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 27
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Sep 10, 2015 11:23 am
Full Name: Lukas
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by lxk3il » Jan 12, 2016 12:12 pm 1 person likes this post

pnikies wrote:Thank you, could we have the complete what's new / release notes ?
Check here:
What's New in Veeam Backup & Replication v9
What's New in Veeam ONE v9

Ink
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jan 11, 2016 12:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by Ink » Jan 12, 2016 4:32 pm

Veeam B&R 9.0.0.902
BUG: If you delete a replica from disk through Veeam the GUI does not update and the replica remains listed. If you try and delete it again it errors out saying VM replica can't be found.

Sloppy bug to slip through to GA.

SyNtAxx
Expert
Posts: 148
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 02, 2015 7:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by SyNtAxx » Jan 12, 2016 5:14 pm

Did you sir find the first reported bug?

mkaec
Expert
Posts: 318
Liked: 72 times
Joined: Jul 16, 2015 1:31 pm
Full Name: Marc K
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by mkaec » Jan 12, 2016 5:26 pm 2 people like this post

I'm usually not an early adopter, but there's some really good improvements in this release. The question is "Is Veeam's QA better than VMware's QA?" :)

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6907
Liked: 700 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by Shestakov » Jan 12, 2016 5:37 pm

Ink wrote:Veeam B&R 9.0.0.902
BUG: If you delete a replica from disk through Veeam the GUI does not update and the replica remains listed. If you try and delete it again it errors out saying VM replica can't be found.
Sloppy bug to slip through to GA.
Thanks. We will check it and write back asap.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6907
Liked: 700 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by Shestakov » Jan 12, 2016 6:16 pm

Ink,
Could you specify if the issue is recurrent, i.e. after you delete the replica it doesn`t disappear in GUI at all or it disappears once you refresh or say, switch between hosts in GUI?
Thanks!

mkaec
Expert
Posts: 318
Liked: 72 times
Joined: Jul 16, 2015 1:31 pm
Full Name: Marc K
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by mkaec » Jan 12, 2016 6:52 pm

SyNtAxx wrote:Did you sir find the first reported bug?
I wouldn't call it the "first" bug. The "Known Issues" section of the release notes is pretty long. As least some of these items are bugs. (Like not being able to exclude SCSI disks with an ID greater than 16.)

skrause
Expert
Posts: 431
Liked: 90 times
Joined: Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by skrause » Jan 12, 2016 7:04 pm 3 people like this post

mkaec wrote:I'm usually not an early adopter, but there's some really good improvements in this release. The question is "Is Veeam's QA better than VMware's QA?" :)
These days asking a question like that is like asking if water is wet. 8)
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect

RGijsen
Enthusiast
Posts: 91
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Oct 10, 2014 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by RGijsen » Jan 12, 2016 7:14 pm 1 person likes this post

I really like the some of the new features. A relative 'simple' but great one is the BitLooker (who thought of that name :D) which should save us a lot of backup repository space. Honestly though I totaly dislike the new UI. It might be more 'slick' to others, to me it's less clear to my eyes. I don't really see why the UI needed an upgrade anyway; a backup tool has to be productive and good at what it should do (and it is!) but I don't see why it needed these new looks. Will it be possible to choose between this new and the classic theme at some point?

alanbolte
Expert
Posts: 635
Liked: 172 times
Joined: Jun 18, 2012 8:58 pm
Full Name: Alan Bolte
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by alanbolte » Jan 12, 2016 9:31 pm 1 person likes this post

I can't comment about the specific icons and colors but the UI was being rebuilt anyway to support the remote console. I've also found a number of minor ways it just works better, like drag-select.

VladV
Expert
Posts: 223
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Apr 30, 2013 7:38 am
Full Name: Vlad Valeriu Velciu
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by VladV » Jan 12, 2016 9:35 pm

RGijsen wrote:Honestly though I totaly dislike the new UI. It might be more 'slick' to others, to me it's less clear to my eyes.
I agree. It's not very legible. I think it's because of the cogwheels and how they are integrated in the background of many icons. Or the white outline of the icons.

iAmRoot
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 12, 2016 9:33 pm
Full Name: Andy B
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by iAmRoot » Jan 12, 2016 9:51 pm

I'm having a blocker issue with the install (and Customer Support line is not picking up - this is kind of urgent). When I try to upgrade from v8u3 to v9 it states "This configuration database contains managed servers with an unsupported OS (Windows Server 2003 and earlier. You must reove all such servers before upgrading."

All of the VM's hosting Veeam components (BEM, proxies, tape servers) run on Server 2008 R2. What is the installer here talking about? Other 2003 VM's that are just part of backup jobs? I thought we were still going to be able to backup Server 2003 vm's.

VladV
Expert
Posts: 223
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Apr 30, 2013 7:38 am
Full Name: Vlad Valeriu Velciu
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by VladV » Jan 12, 2016 10:11 pm

Check in Backup Infrastructure > Managed Servers and see if you haven't missed a standalone Win server there. I had one that was disabled a long time ago.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6907
Liked: 700 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by Shestakov » Jan 12, 2016 10:25 pm

iAmRoot wrote:All of the VM's hosting Veeam components (BEM, proxies, tape servers) run on Server 2008 R2. What is the installer here talking about? Other 2003 VM's that are just part of backup jobs? I thought we were still going to be able to backup Server 2003 vm's.
That`s correct. You are still able to backup Microsoft Windows Server 2003 VMs just like any operating systems supported by VMware. In your case you probably have Veeam components installed on some WS 2003 machine. As Dima mentioned, let`s keep the discussion in the original thread. Thanks!

marcinK3
Service Provider
Posts: 7
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 30, 2015 3:39 pm
Full Name: Marcin Dlugosz
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by marcinK3 » Jan 13, 2016 3:53 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi, can someone describe me how to move backup files to StoreOnce Catalyst repo? I can't even add New Folder to Catalyst repo via FILE menu in V9?

nefes
Veeam Software
Posts: 625
Liked: 155 times
Joined: Dec 10, 2012 8:44 am
Full Name: Nikita Efes
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by nefes » Jan 13, 2016 4:16 pm 1 person likes this post

New Folder is not available since Catalyst store does not have such type of item, only files.
However you may paste there a folder with a files from another server, Veeam will workaround this limitation.
Please keep in mind, that copying existing backup files and than mapping jobs to it is not a good idea, since synthetic activities on such chain will fail due to lack of special Catalyst metadata.
It is recommended to start backup chains anew, performance of Active Full should be quite good for dedupe storage.

nullifi
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Aug 05, 2015 1:41 pm
Full Name: Jason Taylor
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by nullifi » Jan 13, 2016 10:26 pm

VladV wrote: I agree. It's not very legible. I think it's because of the cogwheels and how they are integrated in the background of many icons. Or the white outline of the icons.
At first I thought "This is horrible! It's all blurry!" then I realized it was just yet another DPI scaling bug with Windows 10 on my docked laptop. However, I will say that while I don't know what could be causing this, I do find it a bit harder to read and comprehend what I'm looking at. Maybe it's the colors? The flattened UI? I don't know..

marcinK3
Service Provider
Posts: 7
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 30, 2015 3:39 pm
Full Name: Marcin Dlugosz
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by marcinK3 » Jan 14, 2016 9:03 am

nefes wrote:New Folder is not available since Catalyst store does not have such type of item, only files.
However you may paste there a folder with a files from another server, Veeam will workaround this limitation.
Please keep in mind, that copying existing backup files and than mapping jobs to it is not a good idea, since synthetic activities on such chain will fail due to lack of special Catalyst metadata.
It is recommended to start backup chains anew, performance of Active Full should be quite good for dedupe storage.
First of all where is "remove from backups" :shock: - If I even try to map old backup, since v9 I do not know how to to it :(.
Second - I'd like to copy some files (test only)to Catalyst , but i don't know how.

nefes
Veeam Software
Posts: 625
Liked: 155 times
Joined: Dec 10, 2012 8:44 am
Full Name: Nikita Efes
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by nefes » Jan 14, 2016 10:07 am 1 person likes this post

Remove from backups is as usual, on node Backup&Replication -> Backups -> right click menu, it is currently named Remove from configuration.
To copy files to Catalyst store, go to Files tab, browse filesystem of server you want, select folder or file and right click -> Copy it.
Then browse your Catalyst store, right click and Paste the folder.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16778
Liked: 1405 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by veremin » Jan 14, 2016 10:13 am

nullifi wrote:At first I thought "This is horrible! It's all blurry!" then I realized it was just yet another DPI scaling bug with Windows 10 on my docked laptop. However, I will say that while I don't know what could be causing this, I do find it a bit harder to read and comprehend what I'm looking at. Maybe it's the colors? The flattened UI? I don't know..
We recommend using default DPI (100%) and default text/font size, indeed. Otherwise, you're likely to come across different issues related to UI reflection. Thanks.

mkaec
Expert
Posts: 318
Liked: 72 times
Joined: Jul 16, 2015 1:31 pm
Full Name: Marc K
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by mkaec » Jan 14, 2016 4:21 pm 3 people like this post

v.Eremin wrote:We recommend using default DPI (100%) and default text/font size, indeed. Otherwise, you're likely to come across different issues related to UI reflection. Thanks.
It can be frustrating when a vendor's response to "Your application is having problems with DPI scaling" is "we don't recommend using DPI scaling". If a user has a 4K monitor, what option does he or she have?

1. Use DPI scaling, which can cause problems with applications that don't properly support high DPI.
2. Lower the screen resolution, which will cause everything to blur.
3. Run at native resolution with 100% DPI and deal with text that is too small to read, which will cause eye strain.

In my opinion, it is unacceptable for an application to be released in 2016 that does not properly support high DPI. High DPI monitors are becoming more common. It should be mandatory for part of the development team and part of the QA team to have high DPI monitors and use DPI scaling. Applications should work correctly at both 100% DPI and scaled DPI when run on a modern OS like Windows 10.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24612
Liked: 3462 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R v9 released

Post by Gostev » Jan 14, 2016 8:09 pm 1 person likes this post

Yes, we perfectly realize that and in fact, new applications we have developed recently (such as Veeam Endpoint Backup) fully support DPI scaling, and are tested on high DPI monitors.

On the other hand, Veeam Backup & Replication UI is 10 years old and is based on technologies that do not properly support DPI scaling. With hundreds of dialogs (literally), it's a huge undertaking to re-write everything to modern UI technologies which support DPI scaling. That said, this is definitely on our radar - in fact, this is the "next big thing" for our UI team. And with v9, we've actually made the first step already (the new setup wizard supports high DPI).

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tohhmas and 80 guests