Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Rick_M
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 29, 2016 10:54 pm
Contact:

Veeam B&R, VeeamONE & Enterprise Manager on one host?

Post by Rick_M » Apr 08, 2019 1:43 am

Hi,

I'd like to run all our Veeam Management from one physical server if possible, is this a supported deployment scenario?

Host Specifications:
Win 2019 Standard,
2xE52630v3, 32 Cores Total (w/HT)
512GB RAM
Storage Presented from All Flash Array.

Backing up ~60 ESXi Hosts/~1200 VM's, The server would not act as a backup proxy or mount server in anyway, purely management.

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 3691
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R, VeeamONE & Enterprise Manager on one host?

Post by HannesK » Apr 08, 2019 5:51 am 1 person likes this post

Hello,
that's more than enough hardware :-)

And yes, it's fully supported.

Best regards,
Hannes

PS: this server alone could probably backup your complete environment depending on your RPO / amount of data...

gmajestix
Service Provider
Posts: 14
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jan 26, 2018 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R, VeeamONE & Enterprise Manager on one host?

Post by gmajestix » Apr 08, 2019 6:59 am 1 person likes this post

Except SQL Express database probably wont be enough for all those events from VeeamONE.

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 3691
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R, VeeamONE & Enterprise Manager on one host?

Post by HannesK » Apr 08, 2019 7:05 am 1 person likes this post

yes, SQL Standard or higher edition is required (also for the 1200 VMs VBR)

Rick_M
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 29, 2016 10:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R, VeeamONE & Enterprise Manager on one host?

Post by Rick_M » Apr 08, 2019 10:34 am

Thanks very much for the confirmation, greatly appreciated.

Rick_M
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 29, 2016 10:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R, VeeamONE & Enterprise Manager on one host?

Post by Rick_M » May 10, 2019 1:27 am

The host has been running for a month now flawlessly, reports generate in a fraction of the time, Would there be any issues running 0365 from the same machine?

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 3691
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R, VeeamONE & Enterprise Manager on one host?

Post by HannesK » May 10, 2019 6:34 am

Hi,
with 1200 VMs I expect that you have very many users... So I would go multiple smaller O365 machines / VMs on a different machine. Keep in mind that VBO is a live database. I also don't like the idea having more than two applications on one machine - but that's my personal opinion.

Best regards,
Hannes

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests