Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
HenrikS
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 29, 2009 2:09 pm
Full Name: Henrik Schewe
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by HenrikS » Oct 30, 2009 7:59 am

I totally agree, this should have been mentioned in the upgrade notes.
I also ran into this problem, but since We've only been using veeam in a test environment, i just purged all old backups and reinstalled veeam and the DB.

tjestr
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 05, 2009 9:33 am
Full Name: Falko Dohse
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by tjestr » Oct 30, 2009 8:22 am

For the upgrade process, do i need the double space (for vbk files) to complete the upgrade succesfully?

HenrikS
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 29, 2009 2:09 pm
Full Name: Henrik Schewe
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by HenrikS » Oct 30, 2009 8:27 am

If you have installed the updated package from veeam.com, it should not need the double space; no!

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21621
Liked: 1292 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 30, 2009 8:36 am

Falko,

Henrik is right, you don't need to have double space for the proper upgrade of the VBK files. Just use the the new package with "_u" in its name.

Felix
Enthusiast
Posts: 37
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 30, 2009 2:43 am
Full Name: Felix Buenemann
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by Felix » Oct 30, 2009 1:28 pm

Argh, had I read this thread earlier, just yesterday thrashed two weeks of v3 Backups, because Veeam Backup 4.0 was trying to upgrade a 800GB VBK which exceeded the free space on the backup raid. This *really* should've been noted in the release notes.

colsztyn
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 22, 2009 6:42 pm
Full Name: Christopher A. Olsztyn
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by colsztyn » Oct 30, 2009 2:00 pm

After upgrading to the original 4.0.80 and running my first test job, an existing job, it has been "hanging" at the 0 percent complete and "initializing target session". Is it anticipated that this will eventually complete or do I need to restart the server.

Also, can I get the patch to fix this issue.

Sincerely,

Chris

Felix
Enthusiast
Posts: 37
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 30, 2009 2:43 am
Full Name: Felix Buenemann
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by Felix » Oct 30, 2009 2:09 pm

Read the thread, redownloading the latest version and following the steps in the thread should (supposedly) fix your problems.

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23111
Liked: 2915 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by Gostev » Oct 30, 2009 3:05 pm

Thanks Felix! Correct.

jeff@pcb.ca
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 14, 2009 10:01 pm
Full Name: Jeff Bourassa
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by jeff@pcb.ca » Oct 30, 2009 9:45 pm

I have updated to the latest Backup 4.0 (just downloaded, looks to be the same build file however re-installed over the existing). I still have 2 servers that are stuck on the 0% problem. And after the update are still stuck on this. Should I leave them for the weekend? Or is there a way to force kill the .update process, clear the job and start with a new job?

I agree that some heads up on this issue would have been helpful.

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21621
Liked: 1292 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 30, 2009 10:12 pm

Hello Jeff, have you exactly followed the instructions posted by Anton here around what to do with the .upgrade files?

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23111
Liked: 2915 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by Gostev » Oct 30, 2009 10:50 pm

Upgrade shoud complete pretty fast, no need to leave the jobs hanging for the weekend, it won't help. If you follow the procedure I listed above closely, the upgrade should complete successfully. Or yes, alternatively you can always simply delete the jobs for which automatic VBK storage upgrade failed, and create the new job - if this works for you.

jeff@pcb.ca
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 14, 2009 10:01 pm
Full Name: Jeff Bourassa
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by jeff@pcb.ca » Oct 30, 2009 11:01 pm

I can't stop the jobs in the console, otherwise I would and simply delete them. However I will go through the step as listed over the weekend and see if that clears things up.

Thanks

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23111
Liked: 2915 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by Gostev » Oct 30, 2009 11:06 pm

Jeff, if you need any help at all, please do not hesitate to open a support case, and they will assist you. If the job won't stop, I believe you can simply kill veeam manager and agent processes with the task manager. Or, reboot Veeam Backup server. Then, you will be able to delete the job.

jingxi02
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 25, 2009 11:03 pm
Full Name: Leslie Lei
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by jingxi02 » Oct 31, 2009 6:12 pm

I ran into the same issue after I upgraded it to version 4. The job just hung on "Constructing roll back file" for over day. It won't stop or cancel. I end up have to move the old backup files to a different folder and delete the backups in the Veeam console and start the new Full back on the same job. If I need anything from the old backup, I just import them again.

Anyway, Veeam 4 works much better and solved alot of old issues. Some of my job was running only 15MB/s. The same job is running 120MB/s with Veeam 4. Huge improvement. Thanks alot. :P :P :P :P :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :lol: :lol:

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23111
Liked: 2915 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by Gostev » Oct 31, 2009 6:52 pm

jingxi02 wrote:I end up have to move the old backup files to a different folder and delete the backups in the Veeam console and start the new Full back on the same job. If I need anything from the old backup, I just import them again.
Yep, this is exactly what I would do too. Despite major storage changes, Veeam Backup 4.0 can still import backups made by any previous version of Veeam Backup. Glad you are enjoying the new version! :)

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 40 guests