Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
jai64
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 20, 2009 10:43 am
Full Name: Joe Iovinelli
Contact:

Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by jai64 » Oct 29, 2009 3:16 pm

Has anyone had any problem upgrading to v4?

I upgraded last night and only 1 of 5 backup jobs ran. The rest hung for hours @ 0%.

I restarted and rebooting the server. Then tried to run again (and new jobs), but now the are all still stuck at 0%.

It says "Repairing Backup from Previous Rollback". It is also eating space like crazy and leaving .update files.

Called support at 4:30AM. Still no word...or help.

~joe

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23096
Liked: 2912 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issues.

Post by Gostev » Oct 29, 2009 3:29 pm

Joe, Veeam Backup 4.0 has completely new backup storage format (transactional storage) and the upgrade procedure of v3 storage is very complex. Storage upgrade happens on the first launch of the specific job after the product upgrade (this is why you see the job "hanging" at 0%). Based on our earlier investigation of couple of similar support cases, storage upgrade may be unable to update certain larger v3 backup files to v4 format.

If possible, I recommend that you create the new jobs and delete existing v3 ones for which upgrade failed, this is an immediate workaround. We are already testing fix for this issue, and support will contact you as soon as the fix will be available.

Sorry for this inconvenience, upgrade is always most complex thing to test :(

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23096
Liked: 2912 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issues < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by Gostev » Oct 29, 2009 3:35 pm

Thread stickied.

For future readers: this is one-time upgrade issue does not affect all backups, but only some. So, if your job are running fine after upgrade, you do not need any fixes or anything.

UPDATE - IMPORTANT - PLEASE READ THIS POST CAREFULLY
The download package has been updated on http://www.veeam.com at 10pm GMT Oct 29
Current package does not have this issue.

If you have run into the above mentioned upgrade problem with the original RTM package, follow this procedure:
1. Uninstall the existing version.
2. Download and install updated package (the new package has "_u" in its name), pointing it to the same configuration database.
3. Rename or copy away the .upgrade files next to VBK files for all failed jobs.
4. Run all jobs, first run should now complete successfully.
5. If all is well, delete .upgrade files preserved on step 3.

If you have replication jobs affected by installing the original RTM package, please contact support for assistance.

If you upgraded using the original RTM package, and first run for each job after upgrade completed successfully (which is more common situation), or if you decided to create "fresh" jobs instead - you do not need to download and reinstall the new package. It has all the same components as the original package, except one upgrade-related component.

jai64
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 20, 2009 10:43 am
Full Name: Joe Iovinelli
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issues.

Post by jai64 » Oct 29, 2009 3:41 pm

That puts me in a bit of a pickle.

I have 5TB of backups for my 70 servers and a bunch of complex jobs setup. I wish I would have read about the conversion in the Upgrade instructions???? It was only a few lines and seemed like a minor patch. It said nothing about a backup conversion processes?

I only have enough space to do new backups for a few days. I will have to delete all my old backup files, because it will not properly prune the old stuff out.

And yes my backup files are large? I suspect most peoples are. I have a lot of big servers.

How long until a fix?

~ Not happy

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23096
Liked: 2912 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issues < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by Gostev » Oct 29, 2009 3:44 pm

The fix will be available later today.

toreagan
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 13, 2009 9:26 pm
Full Name: to
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issues < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by toreagan » Oct 29, 2009 4:23 pm

I have the same issue. Half of my jobs are stuck at 0% and I've tried "stopping" the job(s), but no luck... they are still hung. How can I successfully stop the job(s) without having to reboot the server? where will the patch be available from... new full download?

Please Advise... Thanks,
~Trent

jai64
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 20, 2009 10:43 am
Full Name: Joe Iovinelli
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issues < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by jai64 » Oct 29, 2009 4:27 pm

Does that also mean that until this conversion is completed on a job, you can also not do a restore from that job?

~ joe

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23096
Liked: 2912 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issues < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by Gostev » Oct 29, 2009 4:33 pm

Patch is already available and verified with one of the customers over webex.
Support will contact you shortly with the patch (2 files) and instructions on applying the fix.

Joe, you can restore from backup even if storage update procedure failed, no problems there. You just cannot make new backups on v3 jobs, until the fix is applied.

BarryCoombs
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: May 22, 2009 2:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by BarryCoombs » Oct 29, 2009 5:02 pm

Is this patch going to be made available to everyone, or rolled up into a new release, just thinking about the planned customer upgrades I have over the next few weeks. Would prefer to not need to log a support call if I experience this.

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23096
Liked: 2912 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by Gostev » Oct 29, 2009 5:08 pm

Barry, we will update the package on our web-site tonight. Anyone who will download the product after this will not run into the issue. But overall, this issue does not affect everyone who is upgrading, it is quite rare: so far just 3 support cases for a few hundreds of successful upgrades.

I will update this thread once the new package is available for download.

BarryCoombs
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: May 22, 2009 2:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by BarryCoombs » Oct 29, 2009 5:10 pm

ok cheers, I will re-download tomorrow. I came across the issue on our demo Veeam box but just deleted the old backups as they weren't important anyway.

jai64
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 20, 2009 10:43 am
Full Name: Joe Iovinelli
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by jai64 » Oct 29, 2009 5:30 pm

The update worked great. Thank you for the quick response.

~joe

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23096
Liked: 2912 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by Gostev » Oct 29, 2009 5:37 pm

Thank you for updating the topic :)

donikatz
Expert
Posts: 124
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by donikatz » Oct 29, 2009 10:06 pm

Wish I'd read this before upgrading, since I had this same problem. I have enough storage for new backups, though, so I just started fresh ones. Thanks for the update, good info. Loving 4.0 speed! :)

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23096
Liked: 2912 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup 4.0 Upgrade Issue < READ IF UPGRADING FROM v3

Post by Gostev » Oct 29, 2009 10:11 pm

The download package has been updated on http://www.veeam.com

If you have run into the above mentioned problem with the previous package:
1. Uninstall the existing version.
2. Download and install updated package (the new package has "_u" in its name), pointing it to the same configuration database.
3. Rename or copy away the .upgrade files next to VBK files for all failed jobs.
4. Run all jobs, first run should now complete successfully.
5. If all is well, delete .upgrade files preserved on step 3.

If you have replication jobs affected by installing the original RTM package, please contact support for assistance.

If you upgraded using the original RTM package, and first run for each job after upgrade completed successfully (which is more common situation), or if you decided to create "fresh" jobs instead - you do not need to download and reinstall the new package. It has all the same components as the original package, except one upgrade-related component.

Thanks Doni :D

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], ManOrs, Taran and 42 guests