Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
itlad
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 23, 2012 1:56 pm
Contact:

Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by itlad » Apr 27, 2012 9:10 am

Hello, great site :D , hope you can help me with problem below.

I've been tasked with migrating 30+ VM's from remote offices back to the main office.

The remote offices have a sinlge Vmware host with a free licensed version of ESXi4 installed
The main office has an ESXi5 essentials plus licensed 3 host cluster, backed by a SAN

I've deployed Veeam essentials backup server on a VM in main office, a Veeam backup proxy server in each remote office, a Veeam storage repository in main office, and a NAS which can be used as a Veeam backup repository in the remote site.

Due to poor WAN bandwidth and some very very large VM's Veeam replication is not suitable. :cry:
So I've chosen to take the first 'seed' backup of all remote VM's to NAS, then ship the NAS back to base.
Following that I will import the VM's into Veeam local repository, then run a 'delta' backup of remote VM's again, using the initial seed.

I'm only about to test this process now but has anyone actually done this successfully? Can anybody seen any flaws with this or give any advice? :?:

Also,on another note, can anybody tell me whether veeam backups up snapshots by default? :?:

Many thanks

Cokovic
Expert
Posts: 295
Liked: 59 times
Joined: Sep 06, 2011 8:45 am
Full Name: Haris Cokovic
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by Cokovic » Apr 27, 2012 9:37 am 1 person likes this post

You cant take a backup of your VMs with Veeam running on a free ESXi host cause the vStorage API is not available in the free version. Here are some more infos on that.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18037
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by foggy » Apr 27, 2012 11:04 am

Cokovic wrote:You cant take a backup of your VMs with Veeam running on a free ESXi host cause the vStorage API is not available in the free version. Here are some more infos on that.
Other than that, your scenario looks good.
itlad wrote:Also,on another note, can anybody tell me whether veeam backups up snapshots by default? :?:
No, snapshots are not backed up and get consolidated into a single flat file during backup. Moreover, in case of existing snapshots, CBT could sometimes not work for VMs that have one or more snapshots before backup start (VMware limitation). Before running backup and replication jobs, it is recommended to delete VM snapshots, so that the job can enable CBT on all processed VMs.

However, if you need to migrate VM along with its snapshots, you could use the VM Copy job to copy the entire VM folder to the target location and register it in vSphere.

itlad
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 23, 2012 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by itlad » Apr 27, 2012 11:55 am

Cokovic wrote:You cant take a backup of your VMs with Veeam running on a free ESXi host cause the vStorage API is not available in the free version. Here are some more infos on that.
Thanks,
My mistake anyway -I am new to this environment and was mistaken in saying we use the 'free' version of ESXi in the remote offices.
Turns out there are licensed copies there so this is no longer an issue

itlad
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 23, 2012 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by itlad » Apr 27, 2012 12:01 pm

foggy wrote:However, if you need to migrate VM along with its snapshots, you could use the VM Copy job to copy the entire VM folder to the target location and register it in vSphere.
Hi Foggy,

There are a number of VM's with Snapshots, and those snapshots need to be migrated too because they're SW developers VM's and they use snapshots to roll back changes.
I've now looked into Veeam Copy job a bit more now and it seems to be the best option.
My only concern with the copy job is about capturing differences since the copy - can you take a differential backup of a source VM and apply it to a VM that has been copied, much like you'd do witha Veeam backup?

Thanks

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by Vitaliy S. » Apr 27, 2012 12:51 pm 1 person likes this post

VM copy jobs do not track changes, only backup and replication jobs do.

itlad
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 23, 2012 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by itlad » May 09, 2012 3:03 pm

Hi again

I've now got a backup of all the remote site VM's taken to NAS :D
I have shipped that NAS back to base and configured it with an IP on the local LAN

I can see the backups on the CIFS share but when I go to restore it won't work because it's looking for the backup repository with remote network IP :roll:
If it was possible to change the shared folder path of the backup repository object this might not be such a problem.

Any ideas?
Thanks

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5689
Liked: 1604 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by dellock6 » May 09, 2012 3:10 pm 1 person likes this post

You can register the NAS as a new repository and then use the Map Backup function to point to the already existing backup files.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

itlad
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 23, 2012 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by itlad » May 09, 2012 3:27 pm

Thanks dellock6 - but the only place i can see to map the backup is when creating the backup in the first place.

Do you mean I should edit the backup job properties to point to new NAS object now?

itlad
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 23, 2012 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by itlad » May 09, 2012 4:01 pm

itlad wrote:Thanks dellock6 - but the only place i can see to map the backup is when creating the backup in the first place.

Do you mean I should edit the backup job properties to point to new NAS object now?

Ah yes I figured it out now - and have a restore running ok..... Cheers :)

itlad
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 23, 2012 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by itlad » May 09, 2012 4:05 pm

One other problem I'm having is that the VBM meta data file for one of the backups is blank, and 0KB in size (despite job completing ok)

Does this mean I cannot use these backups for restores? :roll:

That's 100GB of backups which I won't fit through the WAN connection,
and don't want to have to ship the NAS back to remote office again... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

Surely there's another way of getting Veeam to recognise them? :idea:

Thanks :)

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5689
Liked: 1604 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by dellock6 » May 09, 2012 7:37 pm 1 person likes this post

If you lost your VBM you can recreate it from scratch, ThomasMc (a great contributor of this forum) has wrote a cool powershell script in his forum:

http://vpowercli.wordpress.com/2011/12/ ... m-scratch/

Take a look at it!
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24474
Liked: 3414 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by Gostev » May 09, 2012 11:58 pm 1 person likes this post

Just keep in mind that you cannot create VBM file from backup file set alone. This PowerShell script requires connection to Veeam server, and configuration database with the corresponding job still present. Thanks!

itlad
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 23, 2012 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by itlad » May 10, 2012 11:09 am

Thanks Luca :D

I installed veeam powershell component and pasted the powershell commands in but am getting the errors below after I specify the VBK file :cry:

itlad
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 23, 2012 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by itlad » May 10, 2012 11:10 am

Gostev wrote:Just keep in mind that you cannot create VBM file from backup file set alone. This PowerShell script requires connection to Veeam server, and configuration database with the corresponding job still present. Thanks!
Thanks Gostev

I actually ran powershell from the Veeam server itself, and the corresponding backup job still exists in Veeam, but I get the errors below :cry:

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by Vitaliy S. » May 10, 2012 12:03 pm

Itlad, please avoid posting error log snippets as it is described when you click New Topic. If you have any technical problem with the product please contact our support team directly. Also please post all PowerShell related questions on the PS community forums. Thanks!

ThomasMc
Expert
Posts: 293
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
Full Name: Thomas McConnell
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by ThomasMc » May 10, 2012 12:25 pm

Seth wrote that script so all credit should go to him :) also if you have any issues just post a comment on my site as I'm certain;

a) its unsupported by Veeam
b) get a response from Seth

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5689
Liked: 1604 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by dellock6 » May 10, 2012 12:42 pm

Ops, sorry about that...
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

ThomasMc
Expert
Posts: 293
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
Full Name: Thomas McConnell
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by ThomasMc » May 10, 2012 2:09 pm

Not a problem Luca, I only spotted this thread when I seen some clicks coming from it :) and thanks for the linkage(been very lazy with the blog in recent months lol)

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5689
Liked: 1604 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by dellock6 » May 10, 2012 4:50 pm

Ehehe, so since I created new visitors for you, it's time to write again on your blog ;)
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

daphnis
Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jun 13, 2012 7:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam backup and restore from remote site.

Post by daphnis » Jun 18, 2012 1:54 am

Hi all, I'm not sure if this is an appropriate place for this, but it is closest to the scenario I'm about to propose.

The OP posted essentially what I am looking to do:

-We are a managed service provider and run Veeam B&R 6.1 with Enterprise features. We use this at our data center to backup all our VMs that include those for our internal use, and those of our clients. All these are hosted on 6 ESXi machines and a vCenter server to manage them all. The Veeam server has a direct SAN connection to the storage of these VMs, and the Veeam server itself sits internally on its own backup repository. It acts as its own backup proxy. All these VMs are located on different vLANs but all physical hardware is in one central location on Gb Ethernet.
-We'd like to extend our Veeam usage to be the sole backup provider of ALL our clients with VMs.
-The clients in question are located in remote physical sites to which we have persistent VPN tunnels established.
-The clients with VMs needing backup with Veeam are running Windows 2008 Hyper-V.
-Many of them are on slow WAN links. Because of this, we'd like to seed load any VM from such a client and take incrementals from there forward.
-Clients have no need for local VM backup since we manage their entire infrastructure, but we need to be able to restore everything from full VMs to files to application items if necessary (U-AIR Exchange, SQL, and AD are necessary).
-I would plan to have the physical host for these VMs to server as the local proxy by default unless we discover this is taxing the host to the point that it interferes with the guest VMs.
-All client servers are accessible from the Veeam B&R server and it has enough storage space and CPU/RAM to handle concurrent uploads from multiple source servers.

I guess my question is since this scenario is not like many WAN requests, how does Veeam work in situations like this? My searches on the forums here don't really address this and I am still learning how to fully manage the product, which I find to be great. If anyone can point me to specific articles or forum posts about this, I would be most grateful. Thank you

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 32 guests