veeam backup enterprise manager

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

veeam backup enterprise manager

Veeam Logoby bgkitware » Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:50 am

When I get a test email from the enterprise manager it places in the fqdn, however the server name should work for example this is how I would log into veam https://server:9443

However the test email created a link that says https://server.domain.location:9443 essentially the fqdn of the server, is there a place I can go to change the link that gets sent out?

I know in AD the sever is technically the fqdn but for whatever reason that link does not work in the email.
Thanks
bgkitware
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:45 am
Full Name: Bryan Garrant

Re: veeam backup enterprise manager

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:05 am

Hi Bryan,

First: Welcome to the forums!

Second: Can you check under ABOUT what the URL is that BEM knows? (https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95). I believe that is the URL that he will be using to send the links.
I believe you can't change this from the program (you would break a few things if you did...). PS: Most probably there is a DNS issue that doesn't allow your FQDN to be resolved properly. Can you ping from the receiving email computer to the FQDN and see what happens?
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3672
Liked: 402 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: veeam backup enterprise manager

Veeam Logoby bgkitware » Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:56 pm

interesting, I can ping the server but not the fqdn
bgkitware
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:45 am
Full Name: Bryan Garrant

Re: veeam backup enterprise manager

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:27 pm

Hi Bryan,

Try to disable the firewall on you EM server and check if the problem persists.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7025
Liked: 508 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: veeam backup enterprise manager

Veeam Logoby bgkitware » Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:01 pm

OK I tried to disable it but the issue was the same.
This is interesting the server name works great but once we get the rest of the domain in it stops working. Its almost like the fqdn will not resolve but the server name does with no problem.
This is a server 2016 box if that helps
Thanks all for the tips
bgkitware
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:45 am
Full Name: Bryan Garrant

Re: veeam backup enterprise manager

Veeam Logoby skrause » Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:31 pm 1 person likes this post

It sounds like your local network name resolution (either NetBIOS or LLMNR) is working but your AD DNS is not working correctly.

Have you done ipconfig /registerdns on the target machine?

Do you have multiple IP addresses on the EM server, some of which are inaccessible?
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect
skrause
Expert
 
Posts: 316
Liked: 51 times
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hamidou.garba, KevinJ and 1 guest