Veeam Copies

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Veeam Copies

Veeam Logoby rstone » Thu Jan 05, 2017 2:56 pm

My latest issue with Veeam (and I get many) is that random VM's don't do a "VMware Backup Copy" off site. Before Christmas I had some VM's wouldn't copy, worked OK over Christmas and this year a different set have stopped working. The Error is :-

Code: Select all
05/01/2017 13:22:11 :: Error: An unexpected network error occurred.
Failed to read data from the file [\\nas\backups\2008 VM_s\2008 VM's2016-12-30T183136.vbk].
Failed to upload disk.
Agent failed to process method {DataTransfer.SyncDisk}.
Exception from server: An unexpected network error occurred.
Failed to read data from the file [\\nas\backups\2008 VM_s\2008 VM's2016-12-30T183136.vbk].
Unable to retrieve next block transmission command. Number of already processed blocks: [29].
Failed to download disk.


I have tried everything Google can through at me and I defiantly don't have any Network Issues. I'm getting so desperate I'm considering ditching Veeam and starting again with a different backup software. Before you ask My provider has booked a call with Veeam (case ref is # 02028477) and not heard from them. The last time they looked they suggested reducing the amount of off-site restore points which I have done but the issue still occurs.

I'm on Veeam version 9.0.0.1715 and my off-site copies goto a QNAP NAS.

I don't think anyone will have any solutions as VEAM, MY VEEAM PROVIDER AND GOOGLE hasn't helped but any suggestions welcome so I can get some sleep tonight!!

Thank you.
rstone
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:35 pm
Full Name: Rob Stone

Re: Veeam Copies

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:28 pm

Hi Rob,

Unfortunately I can't give you any tip more than what is already discussed in the support call. At this moment I noticed that our support engineer is actually trying to contact you (or your provider, not sure who logged the call). So please keep working with our support engineer to try and get to the root cause of this

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2374
Liked: 289 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Veeam Copies

Veeam Logoby rstone » Fri Jan 13, 2017 3:27 pm

No solution from Veeam so I suppose I have give up with copy jobs. Perhaps try two backups one on site and one off and not have copies. Everytime I get a nice set of backup on disk I have to start again. Hey Ho.
rstone
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:35 pm
Full Name: Rob Stone

Re: Veeam Copies

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Jan 16, 2017 4:01 pm

Hi Rob, are you backing up directly to the remote QNAP or you have a gateway server located close to it (btw, what type of repository it is - CIFS?)? What kind of connection do you have, what are the typical backup speeds and bottleneck stats for the copy job?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13923
Liked: 1013 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam Copies

Veeam Logoby rstone » Mon Jan 23, 2017 9:12 am 1 person likes this post

Thank you for your reply; I have at last sorted this issue, me not Veeam or my third party :) by disabling TCP checksum on the veeam server everything is now working correctly, cross fingers.

I got the clue from vmware-vsphere-f24/veeam-8-possible-cbt-issues-t25628-15.html even though this was a different issue.
rstone
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:35 pm
Full Name: Rob Stone

Re: Veeam Copies

Veeam Logoby rstone » Thu Jan 26, 2017 8:20 am

False Alarm, perfect copies for over a week and back to lots of errors again; sign.

Yes Cifs repository and direct to the QNAP.
rstone
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:35 pm
Full Name: Rob Stone

Re: Veeam Copies

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Jan 26, 2017 8:51 am

Foggy was wondering whether there is a gateway server in remote location closer to CIFS share configured on top QNAP device. Having gateway server should increase reliability of your solution and help you avoid multiple issues. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Product Manager
 
Posts: 12397
Liked: 892 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam Copies

Veeam Logoby rstone » Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:45 am

Yes thank you, I have a gateway server at the remote location.
rstone
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:35 pm
Full Name: Rob Stone

Re: Veeam Copies

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:51 am

Please ask your support engineer for further investigation.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13923
Liked: 1013 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], kjm1979, Majestic-12 [Bot], MSNbot Media and 14 guests