Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
matthewc100
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Matthew Coblentz

Veeam Enterprise Manager Failover / remote site

Post by matthewc100 »

I'm a consultant doing some research for my customer who is considering Veeam. They want to know if Veeam Enterprise Manager can be deployed in a clustered / replicated manner so that in the event of a loss of the primary site they can failover to the remote site. While it seems simple enough (on paper) to replicate the VM's to the remote site, I could not find any mention of deploying EM in a manner consistent with DR.

Does EM support this deployment scenario? And, if so, what document should I be looking at? I went through the Veeam Enterprise Manager User Guide and the Veeam Backup/Replication User's Guide but did not find what I was hoping to find about this topic.

Thanks in advance.
chrisdearden
Veteran
Liked: 226 times
Full Name: Chris Dearden

Re: Veeam Enterprise Manager Failover / remote site

Post by chrisdearden » 2 people like this post

Enterprise manager is just a .net application - I dont think it is beyond the bounds of possibility to deploy it to SQL on a multi site mirror , with DFS for the catalog location and some form of NLB with a witness to keep the front end up.

but.

how critical do you think enterprise manager is to failover ? you would be a lot better off replicating the Vm with enterprise manager over.
Are you confusing Enterprise manager with the main VBR install ? in which case you can still replicate the VBR machine - if you have a streched layer 2 between sites you can always bring the VM up manually without the need for an ip change.
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2258 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Post by veremin » 2 people like this post

Hi, Matthew.

You can replicate Enterprise Manager VM to another site via Veeam B&R, so in the disaster situation you will need to use your backup server to perform a VM failover operation.