Veeam Fills up entire repository

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Veeam Fills up entire repository

Veeam Logoby mkobes » Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:32 am

Hello,

We have been using Veeam for a few months now and are using two scale out backup repository's.
One for our backups and one for our copy (archive) jobs.

Now is the isue with our archive repository wich consists of 2 volumes of 36 TB.
Is it correct that Veeam first fills up one repository and than fills the next?

My main concern right now is that Veeam did fill our first volume to the maximum, is this oke?
And with maximum i mean there are 0 bytes availible.... 0 bytes.....!

Can i espect anny isue's and why does the volume get filled to the absolute maximum?


Regards, Malcolm
mkobes
Service Provider
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:14 am

Re: Veeam Fills up entire repository

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:43 am

Hello Malcolm.
Could you elaborate on your settings?
What kind of policy is chosen, "Data locality" or "Performance"?
Is that a deduplication appliance?
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5145
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Veeam Fills up entire repository

Veeam Logoby mkobes » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:54 am

Hello Shestakov,

For our scale out repo data locality is chosen.
The device is a Windows server share formated NTFS with no dedupping enabled.
mkobes
Service Provider
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:14 am

Re: Veeam Fills up entire repository

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Dec 08, 2016 12:38 pm

Thanks for the reply.
Data locality pushes all backups of the chain to the same extent(volume). If the size of a single backup chain is larger than the extent capacity, the whole extent is to be filled, just like in your case.
What is the size of backup chain and what is the job`s retention configuration?
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5145
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Veeam Fills up entire repository

Veeam Logoby mkobes » Thu Dec 08, 2016 2:41 pm

Some quite large VM's are located on archive: for example a 16TB Exchange.....
The retention that is currently configured 14 restorepoints with archival weekly on monday for 2 weeks and have the following files:
.VBK 1.8 TB
.VBK 12.8 TB
.VIB 0.2 TB
.VIB 0.4 TB
.VIB 0.4 TB
.VIB 0.4 TB

What data does it place on those last bytes if it cannot place an .VIB or .VBK???
mkobes
Service Provider
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:14 am

Re: Veeam Fills up entire repository

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:47 pm

In general if you have several jobs/chains both extents should be used.
What product version are you at?
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5145
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Veeam Fills up entire repository

Veeam Logoby mkobes » Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:33 am

We are currently on version 9.0.
But why does Veaam use the last bytes of a disk for its copy jobs?
mkobes
Service Provider
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:14 am

Re: Veeam Fills up entire repository

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:40 am 1 person likes this post

This is addressed in Veeam B&R 9.5, which specifically reserves 1% of storage space to avoid the described behavior and to guarantee correct operation of synthetics and metadata update.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15303
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest