Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
dilberty
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 15, 2009 10:46 am
Full Name: Dan
Contact:

Veeam incorrectly calculates VM size

Post by dilberty » Dec 12, 2010 11:54 pm

Running Veeam Backup 5.0.1 on Windows 7 32 bit which resides on the ESXi host (i.e. Virtual Appliance mode).
During the backup wizard and after selecting the VMs to backup, Veeam incorrectly displays the size for one of my VMs.
The VM has only a single disk of 150GB, but Veeam reports the VM size to be 454GB (!!) which is almost the size of my entire datastore.

Should I ignore this or is this a sign of trouble ahead...?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24826
Liked: 3579 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam incorrectly calculates VM size

Post by Gostev » Dec 13, 2010 7:28 am

May be sign of trouble, as if VM has some incorrect system attributes in VMware, this may cause backup issues. So, better to check with support on that. Thanks!

dilberty
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 15, 2009 10:46 am
Full Name: Dan
Contact:

Re: Veeam incorrectly calculates VM size

Post by dilberty » Dec 13, 2010 11:17 am

Isn't this the support forum? :)

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24826
Liked: 3579 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam incorrectly calculates VM size

Post by Gostev » Dec 13, 2010 11:58 am

No, this is not a support forum. Please follow the red link provided when you click New Topic for additional information on forum rules regarding support inquiries. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], edxh and 20 guests