Veeam Licencing and VBR Console

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Veeam Licencing and VBR Console

Veeam Logoby Crashinit » Thu May 04, 2017 10:37 pm

Hi All.

I am aware that you cannot use 2 different licences on the same backup server.

Is this something that will change in the future?
It would be nice to have one backup server that can utilize different licences instead of having different backup servers.

Is there not a possibility in the future to be able to duplicate what vCenter does with different ROBO licences assigned to Hypervisors which then only allows those features to be available in vSphere Web Client.

Thanks,

Craig
Crashinit
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 9:58 pm
Full Name: Craig Connoll

Re: Veeam Licencing and VBR Console

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu May 04, 2017 11:18 pm

Hi, Craig - I seriously doubt this will ever change, as this would enable people to use higher functionality on backups created with Standard edition license, for example by just adding 1 socket of Enterprise Plus edition in addition to their 100 Standard edition sockets... btw, what is your reason of having multiple different licenses for the same data center?
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21504
Liked: 2380 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Veeam Licencing and VBR Console

Veeam Logoby Crashinit » Thu May 04, 2017 11:51 pm

Hi Gostev.

We have a couple of remote sites categorised in their own DC and we are looking at using the standard licence as the enterprise licence is an overkill for them.
We were hoping to manage them through one backup server instead of having two backup servers with different licences.
Crashinit
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 9:58 pm
Full Name: Craig Connoll


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, nmdange, PTide, vmJoe and 103 guests