Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
abait
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 11, 2009 9:30 am
Full Name: IT Support
Contact:

Veeam VSS freeze

Post by abait »

Running Veeam Ver 3.0 withVSS on VMWare ESX 3.5. We are receiving the following error with backups. 'Releasing VM files Failed to perform Veeam VSS freeze: guest OS "unknownGuest" is not supported. Has anyone seen this error before??
ssimakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 361
Liked: 63 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Stanislav Simakov
Contact:

Re: Veeam VSS freeze

Post by ssimakov »

What operating system is installed on your guest VM?
abait
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 11, 2009 9:30 am
Full Name: IT Support
Contact:

Re: Veeam VSS freeze

Post by abait »

Hello
The guest OS is running Win 2003, Standard Edition. 4GB RAM,

abait
ssimakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 361
Liked: 63 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Stanislav Simakov
Contact:

Re: Veeam VSS freeze

Post by ssimakov »

OK, and how is the VMware tools status shown in the VI client? The product relies on the data returned by VC/ESX so could you please check it in the VI client?
abait
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 11, 2009 9:30 am
Full Name: IT Support
Contact:

Re: Veeam VSS freeze

Post by abait »

The VMware Tools icon is sitting in the Taskbar. The service is running. It on version 3.5.0 Build 123630
Ben Milligan
Expert
Posts: 173
Liked: 40 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam VSS freeze

Post by Ben Milligan »

abait; Can you please upgrade/reinstall VMware Tools on this guest and re-run the job to see if the VSS warning is relegated?
abait
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 11, 2009 9:30 am
Full Name: IT Support
Contact:

Re: Veeam VSS freeze

Post by abait »

Have tried already, but still receiving an error
ssimakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 361
Liked: 63 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Stanislav Simakov
Contact:

Re: Veeam VSS freeze

Post by ssimakov »

abait, have you checked how VMware tools status appears in VI client?
abait
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 11, 2009 9:30 am
Full Name: IT Support
Contact:

Re: Veeam VSS freeze

Post by abait »

Could you explain further.
abait
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 11, 2009 9:30 am
Full Name: IT Support
Contact:

Re: Veeam VSS freeze

Post by abait »

Should I be looking at permissions at a local level on the guest for users.??
ssimakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 361
Liked: 63 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Stanislav Simakov
Contact:

Re: Veeam VSS freeze

Post by ssimakov »

abait, you need to open VM in the VI client and check the line "VMware Tools" in "General" box on the "Summary" tab.
abait
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 11, 2009 9:30 am
Full Name: IT Support
Contact:

Re: Veeam VSS freeze

Post by abait »

The client states "OK"
ssimakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 361
Liked: 63 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Stanislav Simakov
Contact:

Re: Veeam VSS freeze

Post by ssimakov »

Then could you please open a support case by sending all logs to support@veeam.com? We'll review the logs and will setup a WebEx to research the issue if needed.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], karsten123 and 56 guests