Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
zadrian
Enthusiast
Posts: 81
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jul 14, 2015 8:26 am
Contact:

Veeam WAN accelerator cache settings

Post by zadrian » Jan 07, 2019 9:11 am

I have set up such that I have Veeam-HQ in HQ Data Center and Veeam-S1 in a remote data center running Veeam Enterprise Plus with 20 CPU licenses.

I am trying to set up the WAN accelerator as I think the Veeam support have set up wrongly.....
1. Veeam-HQ GUI show 2 WAN accelerator (Veeam-HQ:100GB cache & Veeam-S1 : 100GB cache)
2. Veeam-S1 GUI shows 1 WAN accelerator (Veeam-S1 : 20GB cache)

I sometimes get a WAN accelerator out of space error so I called up the Vendor who removed the item2.....so now Veeam-S1 GUI does not have any WAN accelerator and he increased both the cache from 100GB to 150GB.

The weird thing is that now the space usage is as follows and shown on Veeam-HQ WAN accelerator cache :
1. Veeam-HQ Cache size 150GB (but space used is approx 150GB)
2. Veeam-S1 Cache size 150GB (but space used is approx 295GB)
- I looked at the drive and saw \\Veeam-s1\d$\VeeamWAN\GlobalCache\trg have 2 folders and they contained identical files except for a 0 byte sync.bin
- {a7fca10c-69b2-4ac6-9cd6-2be855929793} & {e4eddb49-cbb8-4576-9af9-1a409607b2ea}

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5128
Liked: 443 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam WAN accelerator cache settings

Post by P.Tide » Jan 07, 2019 1:05 pm

Hi,
Veeam-HQ in HQ Data Center and Veeam-S1
Do you have two separate Veeam servers, or is it just source and target repositories? Separate Veeam servers are not aware of each others caches. Please also note, that WAN cache takes up all space that you provide (i.e. if you assign 100GB for cache, WAN will utilize all that space). Have you seen this BP guide already?

Thanks!

zadrian
Enthusiast
Posts: 81
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jul 14, 2015 8:26 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam WAN accelerator cache settings

Post by zadrian » Jan 08, 2019 3:50 am

I have 2 Veeam servers (Veeam-HQ & Veeam-S1), each with its own local HDD (c: for OS and d: for "veeam data").

In the Veeam-HQ Veeam server, I have 2 WAN accelerators, one on local host and one on Veeam-S1.
There are no WAN accelerators on Veeam-S1 "directly".

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam WAN accelerator cache settings

Post by foggy » Jan 10, 2019 2:34 pm

zadrian wrote:
Jan 07, 2019 9:11 am
2. Veeam-S1 Cache size 150GB (but space used is approx 295GB)
- I looked at the drive and saw \\Veeam-s1\d$\VeeamWAN\GlobalCache\trg have 2 folders and they contained identical files except for a 0 byte sync.bin
- {a7fca10c-69b2-4ac6-9cd6-2be855929793} & {e4eddb49-cbb8-4576-9af9-1a409607b2ea}
Since global cache is unique per pair of source and target WAN accelerators, a separate subfolder is created for each connected source WAN accelerator.

zadrian
Enthusiast
Posts: 81
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jul 14, 2015 8:26 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam WAN accelerator cache settings

Post by zadrian » Jan 22, 2019 9:17 am

Hi foggy...

So if I only got 1 pair of servers (Veeam-HQ & Veeam-site1) and the WAN Accelerator is set at Veeam-HQ (there are no setting on Veeam-site1) I would have 2 folders on each server ??

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam WAN accelerator cache settings

Post by foggy » Jan 23, 2019 3:00 pm 1 person likes this post

You have two cache folders on Veeam-S1, since now you have WAN accelerator installed there as a part of Veeam_HQ backup server and you had also WAN accelerator on it as a part of Veeam-S1 backup server previously (now removed).

zadrian
Enthusiast
Posts: 81
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jul 14, 2015 8:26 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam WAN accelerator cache settings

Post by zadrian » Feb 01, 2019 7:47 am

Ok...thanks....
But thats just waste of space....

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam WAN accelerator cache settings

Post by foggy » Feb 07, 2019 11:46 am

You can remove one of them since it is not used anymore (you do not have the second WAN accelerator).

zadrian
Enthusiast
Posts: 81
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jul 14, 2015 8:26 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam WAN accelerator cache settings

Post by zadrian » Feb 13, 2019 3:12 am

So is this a bug ? Should the folder be removed when the WAN accelerator was removed ?
How would I know which to remove ?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam WAN accelerator cache settings

Post by foggy » Feb 13, 2019 4:46 pm

Cache is not deleted when you remove WAN accelerator. To check what folder belongs to which WAN accelerator, you can compare the GUID stored in the WanId registry value under HKLM\SOFTWARE\Veeam\Veeam WAN Accelerator on the WAN accelerator server.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], emachabert, jtorres, nmdange, veremin and 58 guests