Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
lagrian
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Adrian Carley

Veeam with offsite to tape and cloud (Glacier)

Post by lagrian »

Hi All,

I am new to Veeam and have just purchased Veeam Cloud edition for a virtual backup requirements.

Setup is:
Veeam Server: Windows 2012 on ESX Host
Full Backup Set Size: 5TB (Uncompressed / No Deupe)
Backup Storage: DAS on ESX Host

Want I am trying to figure out is how best to configure Veeam taking into account local backups, off site to tape and also off site to Amazon glacier.

Business objectives at a high level is the following:
* Local restore 14 Days Quick restore
* 2 offsite solutions (one to tape one to cloud)
* Tape solution to have permanent full monthly backups
* Cloud to have 6 Months data with with undecided frequency of restore points.

Without going into the detail I am finding it hard to come up with an architecture to achieve the above. What I have sketched out conflicts with each other that is:
* Local Backup is best suited to reversed incremental for quick restore and low disk space
* To Tape is best suited to Incremental - Why is this vs reversed incremental?
* To Cloud with Glacier I am still trying to work out for a rolling six month period. How would you do this? I am guessing standard incremental? with a full every month. Is it okay to have 30 odd Incrementals? i would have separate jobs for each VM and stagger the jobs so transfer is possible in the time period.
* Should I use windows 2012 deduplication?, if i do this would help local storage size which I don't have in abundance but the files stored in the cloud wouldn't be compressed so i would have long transfer and higher storage costs.

Am I missing something obvious that would enable me to do this sensibly without having mixed methods of backups, deduplication and compression options or am I over thinking this?

Any pointers would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Adrian
dellock6
VeeaMVP
Liked: 1932 times