Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
rgj
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 28, 2010 6:38 am
Full Name: René Jørgensen
Contact:

Virtual machine name change

Post by rgj »

Hi,

Our Windows group have a habit of not deciding the names theirs VMs when they're installed.
They can change them 2-3 times before going into production.

Our Veeam installation is based on the folder-structure we have in VC and the VMs are therefore included automagically in the backup.

Unfortunatly the changed name is not reflected in the Veeam backup, and makes it kinda hard to find the VMs again in Veeam. And they also show up in every cross reference done when checking the backup.
I'm guessing that Veeam uses the VM UUID from VC as a reference to the VM after it's been backed up the first time.

Is there some way of syncronising the names between VC and Veeam?

/René

Alexey D.

Re: Virtual machine name change

Post by Alexey D. »

Hello René,

Are you using vSphere client to change VMs' names? Also, which version of B&R are you using?

rgj
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 28, 2010 6:38 am
Full Name: René Jørgensen
Contact:

Re: Virtual machine name change

Post by rgj »

Hi,

Yeah, all changes are done through VI client.

We're running B&R 5.0.1.198.

/René

Alexey D.

Re: Virtual machine name change

Post by Alexey D. »

Huh, that's strange though..
We've just re-tried adding VMs based on folders (your case) and resource pools - name changes were updated smoothly.

Please open a support case and work with our support team. Thanks!

rgj
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 28, 2010 6:38 am
Full Name: René Jørgensen
Contact:

Re: Virtual machine name change

Post by rgj »

Hi,

Just to make sure we're talking about the same :-)

I have a job which includes a folder called "Production". In this folder there is a VM called NAME.
This VM is then renamed to FINALNAME, and the job runs again.

If i go to Backups, and expand the backup for that job, i should see the VM as FINALNAME instead of NAME?

/René

Alexey D.

Re: Virtual machine name change

Post by Alexey D. »

True. So, please send us the logs, we've never seen this behavior before.

rgj
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 28, 2010 6:38 am
Full Name: René Jørgensen
Contact:

Re: Virtual machine name change

Post by rgj »

Done.

Case id: 581087

rgj
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 28, 2010 6:38 am
Full Name: René Jørgensen
Contact:

Re: Virtual machine name change

Post by rgj »

Hi,

According to support - The behaviour we're seeing is how it works. So it seems they disagree :-)

I've asked support to make a feature request.

/René

pizzim13
Enthusiast
Posts: 94
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Apr 21, 2011 7:37 pm
Contact:

VM name change not reflected in job properties

Post by pizzim13 »

[merged into existing discussion]

I see that Veeam is able to backup the correct vm after the vm's name has changed in vCenter, because it is using the ManagedObjectReference and not the actual vm's name. What I am not seeing is the vm's new name being reflected in the job objects properties. Is it possible to update this property?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24831
Liked: 2083 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Virtual machine name change

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Yes, this is expected behavior. You will not see any changes on the "Virtual Machines to backup" step of the wizard, however all other views (such as backups node etc.) will be updated accordingly.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 28147
Liked: 4953 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Virtual machine name change

Post by Gostev »

Try to remove and re-add the VM to the job.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], falkob, pirx and 43 guests