Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
mpollard
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 08, 2010 3:12 pm
Full Name: Michael Pollard
Contact:

VM Copy saves all VM disks

Post by mpollard » Feb 08, 2010 4:05 pm

Hi,

I am using Veeam 4.1 and VSphere 4. I am performing a VM copy Job and I choose VMWare vStorage API in network mode. I select Disk 0:0 only for most virtual servers but It is copying all my VMDK's for a server. Most servers have 2 disks but some have 3 disks. However I only want disk 0:0 ( c drive) Can anybody help.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3278 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VM Copy saves all VM disks

Post by Gostev » Feb 08, 2010 4:29 pm

Hi Michael, this behavior is expected and documented in the Release Notes. Thanks.

mpollard
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 08, 2010 3:12 pm
Full Name: Michael Pollard
Contact:

Re: VM Copy saves all VM disks

Post by mpollard » Feb 08, 2010 4:56 pm

Hi Gostev,

I can't see any information to this in the release notes. The only thing I can see is that IDE disk are not excluded. All my disks are SCSI. Is this what you are refering to.

thanks

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3278 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VM Copy saves all VM disks

Post by Gostev » Feb 08, 2010 5:20 pm

http://www.veeam.com/veeam_backup_4_1_r ... tes_rn.pdf

Page #7
“VM Copy” jobs do not support disk exclusions functionality.

mpollard
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 08, 2010 3:12 pm
Full Name: Michael Pollard
Contact:

Re: VM Copy saves all VM disks

Post by mpollard » Feb 09, 2010 12:46 pm

Ah yes, I see the issue now. Is this by design or will a fix be comming out?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3278 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VM Copy saves all VM disks

Post by Gostev » Feb 09, 2010 1:03 pm

Basically, this bug was found late while v4 architecture limitations did not allow to add this functionality in a timely manner. These limitations are addressed in v5, so it should be much easier to fix now. I have requested to un-defer this bug and assign it to v5, so if time allows this will be addressed as a part of v5 bug fix.

mpollard
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 08, 2010 3:12 pm
Full Name: Michael Pollard
Contact:

Re: VM Copy saves all VM disks

Post by mpollard » Feb 09, 2010 2:50 pm

Thanks Gostev

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: andreas.raden, BaptisteT and 60 guests