VM Restore

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

VM Restore

Veeam Logoby pmalinov » Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:06 am

So we had to go back and pull a VM from tape backups. We do need to restore the entire VM without affecting the production one. It is a SQL server VM so you can imagine what two SQl servers will do if they both come up with the same name.

Anyways, here is what I have done so far and what I need some help with:

1. Restore the VM file from tapes --> DONE
2. The VM now appears under Disk (imported)
3. Right click on the VM under Disk imported and select Instant VM recovery --> can I really do that and run the VM from there without having to import into my VMware SAN?
3. Can I leave the VM with the same name, but leave the "Connect VM to Network" checkbox unchecked?

Ideally I would like to run the restored VM from the backup file directly --> Start the restored VM in my production environment without affecting my prod SQL box --> Login to the restored VM and start my SQL application --> Recover my files --> Export my files outside of the isolated recovered VM --> Close and forget about this

Am I being too optimistic or is the above scenario achievable?

Please guide me so I dont do anything stupid and overwrite production server.

Thank you
www.saaschronicles.com
pmalinov
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 72
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 6:14 pm

Re: VM Restore

Veeam Logoby antman157 » Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:13 pm

I don't believe it will let you keep the name the same, it will give you an error the name already exists, do you want to overwrite.

You could do an instant recovery, I usually name it servername_ir. Then I don't connect it to any networks. Once the server is powered on, I login and get whatever files I need or backups from SQL. Then you can change the IP to a static, connect it to your production network or an isolated network, and connect to the Server, grad the files, then stop publishing the instant recovery.

Just how I might attempt the recovery.
antman157
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 2:53 pm
Full Name: Anthony Jones

Re: VM Restore

Veeam Logoby pmalinov » Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:42 pm

I wonder if it will be fine if I rename the VM. My SQL app will be looking for the server name to connect to.
www.saaschronicles.com
pmalinov
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 72
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 6:14 pm

Re: VM Restore

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Thu Mar 09, 2017 7:47 am

Hi,

It might be that the restore is a bit more complicated, but now that you have that VM under disk (imported) can you right click on it and choose Restore Application Items -> SQL?
Items (or files) can also be restored from that backup on disk in case you need it. And there is still the universal air wizard or explorer that you can download (see here: https://www.veeam.com/pdf/release_notes ... tes_en.pdf)

Just a thought
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3089
Liked: 359 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: VM Restore

Veeam Logoby pmalinov » Thu Mar 09, 2017 2:10 pm

I need to be logged into the server and open an application in order to have a user identify which files he needs restored. This is a SQL back-end application and the only way this user can tell me which files he needs is by looking inside this app...
www.saaschronicles.com
pmalinov
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 72
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 6:14 pm

Re: VM Restore

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Mar 09, 2017 2:29 pm

The procedure you've described in your original post is correct.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14560
Liked: 1060 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 16 guests