VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Veeam Logoby JamezUK » Tue Jul 28, 2015 10:30 am

Hi, Was there ever a resolution to this issue? I have started to experience it and was hoping for a quick fix without having to bother support.

Cheers
JamezUK
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:43 am
Full Name: James Muller

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Jul 28, 2015 11:45 am

James, I've checked all the cases mentioned in this thread and in one of them the error went away after rebooting the server, another user switched to setting the proxy server manually, and in the third case error went away by itself. So no quick solution and I recommend to contact support for deeper investigation of your specific issue (logs review will be required).
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14094
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Veeam Logoby hbrusset » Mon Aug 03, 2015 10:16 pm

Hi guys,

I used to have the same issue on a customer backup server, even after upgrading to 8.0.0.2030.

After analysing, in my case, VeeamVssSupport Service was running and still running after a reboot of the backuped VM.

Here is what I do to solve my issue :
  • I just kill this service
  • set startup to manual
  • open a cmd as admin
  • run : sc delete VeeamVssSupport
  • and then finaly restart or retry the job

hope it can help you
Hubert BRUSSET
Veeam System Engineer France
hbrusset
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 3:43 pm
Location: Paris
Full Name: Hubert BRUSSET

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Veeam Logoby mikegmi » Wed Sep 09, 2015 9:00 pm

We're getting the same error.
mikegmi
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:01 pm
Full Name: Mike Bordignon

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:52 am

Mike, have you already contacted technical support? If no, please do.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14094
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Veeam Logoby skrbnik » Thu Nov 12, 2015 8:22 am

Hi,

we have solved the issue after setting the proxy server manually and selecting the main Veeam Backup Server as the proxy.

What we don't understand is why this is working and not when we select our other Veeam Backup Proxy which is the host where the second repository disk in mounted...

Is this some kind of bug?

Thank you.
skrbnik
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 1:22 pm
Full Name: skrbnik

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Nov 12, 2015 12:34 pm

Only deep logs investigation can tell the actual reason of this behavior.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14094
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Veeam Logoby fraack » Wed Nov 25, 2015 2:06 pm

Hi Guys,

I have the same issue at one of my customers. I opened a ticket yesterday : Case # 01148396
We are running a centralized Veeam Infrastructure on Version 8 Update 3. We integratd for the first three offsite locations for the customer. Every offsite location (Itlay, Spain and Switzlerand) contains three ESXi 6.0 Hosts with a vSAN Datastore and a virtual machine acts as Proxy, Repository and WAN Acc. First we have local Backup Job in Hot Add Mode to this virtual machine. After that we perform a backup copy job to the HQ in Germany. Since a couple of days the local backup job stucks at "getting info from vSphere". This occurs only for Spain and Switzlerand. The Backup in italy runs very well. The bandwith is with 2 Mbit/s nearly the same for all locations.

The first support response was that there is a vCenter disconnect described in our logs. But I was wondering whay the itlian jobs makes no trouble. The Job defination is quite simple for the local Job:
- Reverse Incremental
- 10 RTs
- no active Fulls
- compression optimal
- block size default 1MB
- VSS enabled
- hotadd


May one of you guys have an idea.

best regards

Florian
fraack
Certified Trainer
 
Posts: 33
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 7:44 am
Full Name: Florian Raack

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Veeam Logoby fraack » Thu Nov 26, 2015 8:00 am

I spend some further time with Troubleshooting yesterday and I figured out the main reason for this issue. First I set the Proxy for Job processing from automatic to Manual and I disabled VSS for this Job. With this Setting the Job ran successfull like estimated. After the Job was finished I enabled VSS again to double check this Setting. With VSS enabled the Job still stucks at getting info from vSphere. It seems that the Connection to the offsite Locations is to weak. So it takes to Long time to upload the guest Agent.

I know that this Problem is adressed with v9. So I discussed it with my customer and we diabled VSS for offsite Jobs till v9 is GA.

That works for me.
fraack
Certified Trainer
 
Posts: 33
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 7:44 am
Full Name: Florian Raack

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Veeam Logoby actiefnet » Mon Jul 04, 2016 6:07 am

Having the same issues with v 9.0.0.1491. Anybody found solid solution for this?
actiefnet
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 9:38 am
Full Name: actiefnet

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jul 04, 2016 9:20 am

Please contact our support team for the debug logs review, as it is almost impossible to guess the reason for this issue via forums. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19104
Liked: 1055 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Veeam Logoby millahjovich » Tue Jul 05, 2016 11:01 am

Max, does the job get stuck on the same VMs each time? Do you need to stop the job manually to resolve this? What about manual retries or Quick Backup performed against the stuck VMs? And yes, logs review is required, so please contact support for assistance with this.
Hello I Am Millah
millahjovich
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:40 am
Full Name: Millah Jovich

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Mon Sep 26, 2016 2:26 pm

Same problem here with v9 u2 after moving from vcenter 5.5 to 6. Opening a support ticket.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 248
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Veeam Logoby FMOFMO » Wed Dec 28, 2016 3:59 pm

hyvokar wrote:Same problem here with v9 u2 after moving from vcenter 5.5 to 6. Opening a support ticket.


I've got the same issue. I am running VBR v9u2, vCenter 6.0u1 with 2 HA clusters containing ESXi running 5.5u3p9 Build 4722766 or v6.0u1a.
Was your issue solved by support? I am considering upgrading to v9.5...
FMOFMO
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 3:51 pm
Full Name: Francoise MOUSSAT

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Dec 28, 2016 5:22 pm

Hi Francoise, I'd recommend opening your own case as well. The reasons of the issue might differ between setups.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14094
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rkovhaev, Yahoo [Bot] and 11 guests