Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
FMOFMO
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 28, 2016 3:51 pm
Full Name: Francoise MOUSSAT
Contact:

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Post by FMOFMO »

Thanks for the answer but no need to open a case. All my problems were gone after upgrading to version 9.5.0.711 !

Andreas Neufert
VP, Product Management
Posts: 4502
Liked: 851 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Post by Andreas Neufert »

Thank you for the feedback.

wirthon
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 06, 2015 8:14 pm
Contact:

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Post by wirthon »

I am having the same issue with one vm. I have contacted Veeam and support couldn't find the solution.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19434
Liked: 1764 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Post by foggy »

What is your case ID?

wirthon
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 06, 2015 8:14 pm
Contact:

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Post by wirthon »

Case 02027705

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19434
Liked: 1764 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Post by foggy »

As far as I can see, the investigation is going on, feel free to escalate the case if you'd like a closer look at the issue.

wirthon
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 06, 2015 8:14 pm
Contact:

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Post by wirthon »

yes its on going but we aren't getting anywhere

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19434
Liked: 1764 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Post by foggy »

As I've mentioned, you can ask for escalation of the case to a higher tier.

blacks4
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 20, 2015 6:28 am
Contact:

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Post by blacks4 »

We are getting this and our backups have been down for a week. Nothing is working. vSphere 6.5 with a mix of 6.0 and 6.5 ESXi hosts. and every backup job, new or old, that worked perfectly before, is not working at all even on Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5.0.823 (patch just applied today).

I went to "Backup Infrastructure", selected our vCenter server and rescanned it successfully. no errors.

I've opened backup jobs and "recalculated" them successfully (no errors).

I've rescanned all backup Repo's successfully (no errors).

When I start a backup job even to a local repository on the same physical Windows server, and only backing up 1 Linux vm that is TURNED OFF (or on, doesn't matter), it starts, creates 2 initial files in the repo folder:

<backup job name>.vbm (which is 7KB)
<backup job name><timestamp>.vbk (which is 30866KB)

then it just sits forever:

"Hard disk 1 (0.0 B) 0.0 B read at 0 KB/s [CBT]"

Case #02044544

PLEASE HELP

m_zolkin
Veeam Software
Posts: 29
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Aug 26, 2009 1:13 pm
Full Name: Mikhail Zolkin
Contact:

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Post by m_zolkin »

Support team is reviewing Case #02044544 and we'll update you with our findings shortly.
VP, WW Customer Technical Support

blacks4
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 20, 2015 6:28 am
Contact:

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Post by blacks4 »

Update for those still having problems: our case isn't 100% resolved, but a temp workaround that's allowing us to backup servers in the meantime was to create a new proxy on a different system, and specify that in our backup jobs. Something with the locally installed proxy and local Transport software isn't happy but at least we can backup now. If you're in a bind and nothing else is working, might as well give it a try.

Andreas Neufert
VP, Product Management
Posts: 4502
Liked: 851 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Post by Andreas Neufert »

Did you cloned the non-working Proxy at some point time in the past?
Is it a Win 2008 (R2) system?

CharadeUR
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 05, 2012 2:29 pm
Full Name: George Streeter
Contact:

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Post by CharadeUR »

Any resolution to this case? We are having the same problem. I know open a support case. Seems like a common enough issue it should be resolved by now.

EugeneK
Veeam Software
Posts: 156
Liked: 36 times
Joined: Mar 19, 2016 10:57 pm
Full Name: Eugene Kashperovetskyi
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Post by EugeneK » 1 person likes this post

Based on the variety of possible reasons it may be not working, I'd recommend to still open a support case and let support take a look into it.
Did you happen to try the workaround with a dedicated Proxy installed to see if it addresses the particular issue you're having?
Eugene K
VMCA, VCIX-DCV, vExpert

whatever
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 22, 2017 10:17 am
Full Name: Dennis G.
Contact:

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Post by whatever »

we had the same probs with our Veeam machine.
all backup and replication jobs got a timeout while reading disks....

workaround: install a new proxy server on any VM, get it in Veeam, choose only this proxy in jobs (and maybe fix ip-adresses)

works great now!!!

Delo123
Expert
Posts: 361
Liked: 109 times
Joined: Dec 28, 2012 5:20 pm
Full Name: Guido Meijers
Contact:

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Post by Delo123 »

@Veeam Does this have anything to do with the local proxy not using the networkor not? I remember there was a hiddeen reg setting for that in 9 but can't remember if loopback processing is now fully supported and "networkless" now

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24243
Liked: 1859 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Guido, no this shouldn't be the reason for this issue, let our support team investigate this further.

m.novelli
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 365
Liked: 43 times
Joined: Dec 29, 2009 12:48 pm
Full Name: Marco Novelli
Location: Asti - Italy
Contact:

Re: VM stuck at "Getting VM info from vSphere"

Post by m.novelli »

I've got about three - four customers in the last month with this issue, the backup stuck since some days on "Getting VM info from vSphere". Veeam 9.5 Update 3a with vSphere 6.0 U3 updated to early - mid 2018

I've opened a ticket, case #03235970

Cheers

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 35 guests