Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Regnor
Service Provider
Posts: 310
Liked: 62 times
Joined: Jan 31, 2011 11:17 am
Full Name: Max
Contact:

VMware Language Support

Post by Regnor » Nov 04, 2016 2:58 pm

Hi everyone,

I've just came across this statement: "Only English version of VMware Infrastructure is supported"
Image

Can someone explain this to me?
I've never experienced any language limitations with Veeam, so is this statement false?
Or does it relate to the old VMware Infrastructure(like 3.5), which on the other hand isn't supported at all?

Thanks!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24298
Liked: 3331 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VMware Language Support

Post by Gostev » Nov 05, 2016 8:23 pm

We're not testing with non-English versions of VMware, thus the statement (even thought it may work just fine).

Regnor
Service Provider
Posts: 310
Liked: 62 times
Joined: Jan 31, 2011 11:17 am
Full Name: Max
Contact:

Re: VMware Language Support

Post by Regnor » Nov 07, 2016 7:51 am

Hi Anton,

thanks for your reply.
I've never read anything about language limitations and I've only found this requirement in the Whats New v9 PDF. Also there seems to be no limitation regarding Hyper-V.

Thinking about it, is it event possible to install vCenter in a different language?
We can change the language of vSphere (web) Client , but vCenter itself is always english, is it?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16510
Liked: 1373 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: VMware Language Support

Post by veremin » Nov 07, 2016 8:40 am

You can change default locale for vCenter installed on Windows machine. However, vCenter Server Virtual Appliance does not support that. Thanks.

Regnor
Service Provider
Posts: 310
Liked: 62 times
Joined: Jan 31, 2011 11:17 am
Full Name: Max
Contact:

Re: VMware Language Support

Post by Regnor » Nov 07, 2016 10:38 am

Hey Vladimir,
so does changing the default locale relate to the statement "Only English version of VMware Infrastructure is supported"?
And will customers get limited or no support when the change the locales?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22693
Liked: 1498 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VMware Language Support

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 07, 2016 12:33 pm

Yes, that's correct. Various issues might be expected when locale is changed from English to other languages.

Regnor
Service Provider
Posts: 310
Liked: 62 times
Joined: Jan 31, 2011 11:17 am
Full Name: Max
Contact:

Re: VMware Language Support

Post by Regnor » Nov 07, 2016 2:30 pm

Hi Vitaly,
so does this mean limited or no support at all?

I only know one customer with changed local settings in vCenter but it would be great if you could add that requirement on your website, helpcenter, etc

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22693
Liked: 1498 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VMware Language Support

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 07, 2016 3:28 pm

If local characters are used (for example umlauts), then executing some operations would be unsupported.

Regnor
Service Provider
Posts: 310
Liked: 62 times
Joined: Jan 31, 2011 11:17 am
Full Name: Max
Contact:

Re: VMware Language Support

Post by Regnor » Nov 07, 2016 6:31 pm

OK umlauts are bad practice anyway and normally you wouldn't use them; I'll check if it's possible to use them for VMs.
To mention support again; will a customer have any limitations regarding technical support?
I understand that if the problem is related to the language, Veeam won't fix it, but will the engineer refuse to help right away?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16510
Liked: 1373 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: VMware Language Support

Post by veremin » Nov 08, 2016 9:43 am

I understand that if the problem is related to the language, Veeam won't fix it, but will the engineer refuse to help right away?
I doubt that you will be refused, if you come across general VMware or Veeam issue, not specifically related to chosen locale. Nevertheless, it would not harm to clarify this question with support team directly. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], emachabert, nmdange, veremin and 60 guests