Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
joergr
Expert
Posts: 386
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether
Contact:

vpower nfs store - location

Post by joergr » Oct 22, 2010 10:24 am

Hi,

maybe i am too blinded by all the new features ;-) - so i can´t find this one: Does anybody know where the vpower nfs engine store actually is exactly located on the veeam backup server, let´s say when i use instant recovery? And secondly my question would be how to change the location of this nfs store?

Another one: Is there any possibility to actually CHECK the status of the vpower nfs engine and the storage and maybe even show the esx machines accessing the storage via nfs at this special time?

best regards,
Joerg

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24804
Liked: 3566 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: vpower nfs store - location

Post by Gostev » Oct 22, 2010 3:27 pm

Hello,

Specifying vPower NFS root folder location is one of few settings you need to specify when setting up Veeam Backup server.
As for monitoring vPower NFS, Veeam Monitor 5.0 (including Free Edition) provides all of the above-mentioned capabilities.

Thanks!
Anton

joergr
Expert
Posts: 386
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether
Contact:

Re: vpower nfs store - location

Post by joergr » Oct 22, 2010 3:41 pm

Hi Anton,

thanks. Wow, i can not remember it asked me for a NFS location at all. What is the default location? Can i somehow change it? And if not would a re-install solve this or would i have to deinstall and reinstall everything?

best regards,
Joerg

joergr
Expert
Posts: 386
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether
Contact:

Re: vpower nfs store - location

Post by joergr » Oct 22, 2010 9:41 pm

follow-up:

I uninstalled only b+r 5.0 main (not catalog) and reinstalled it, told it should use same old database, was OK for the setup routine. Gave em the new NFS path where is enough storage left. Now: Is that OK the way i did it or do i have to reinstall everything (enterprise manager and search server on the same machine, but HUGE machine, 2 8core Xeons, plenty of superpower, w2008r2).

best regards,
Joerg

joergr
Expert
Posts: 386
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether
Contact:

Re: vpower nfs store - location

Post by joergr » Oct 22, 2010 11:25 pm

That did not do the trick. I had to install sql express management studio and manually kill the veeam backup database as it is neither automatically removed nor was i asked if it should be removed during uninstall procedure. now everything seems fine.

Best regards,
Joerg

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24804
Liked: 3566 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: vpower nfs store - location

Post by Gostev » Oct 22, 2010 11:34 pm

OK, glad you're up and running now. Sorry for a little pause in my replies, I stepped away to do very quick, "express" release celebration with the team ;)

ctchang
Expert
Posts: 115
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 15, 2010 3:12 pm
Contact:

Re: vpower nfs store - location

Post by ctchang » Oct 23, 2010 1:40 am

joergr wrote:That did not do the trick. I had to install sql express management studio and manually kill the veeam backup database as it is neither automatically removed nor was i asked if it should be removed during uninstall procedure. now everything seems fine.

Best regards,
Joerg
I once installed the default veeam with mssql 2005 express included, all you need for uninstallation is to go to Control Panel, Program > Uninstall MSSQL 2005, it will remove the Veeam database and allow me to install v5 on my existing MSSQL 2008 instance.

joergr
Expert
Posts: 386
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether
Contact:

Re: vpower nfs store - location

Post by joergr » Oct 23, 2010 8:12 am

@ctchang: Yeah, that is what i usually would have done, BUT let´s say you also installed backup exec 2010 and that use the same sql engine you are much more on the safe side if you remove it by hand ;-)
@anton: don´t apologize! you are one of the most present and active forum mods i have ever seen. you whole veeam guys are very assidous, btw.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 18 guests