Warning - Does not fit into allowed limit?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Warning - Does not fit into allowed limit?

Veeam Logoby elwood » Wed Apr 20, 2016 11:09 am

Hi Folks,

Could anybody advise me what a warning stating 'Canot process VM xxxxx because it does not fit into allowed limit' means?
I have Googled to no avail and cannot see anyone else reporting this.

Some VMs reporting it were recreated (ergo new VM UIDs), so would not match the original full backups - I'd ordinarily assume a recreation of the job would be required but I also have a couple of newly deployed VMs reporting the same warning.

Any ideas?
elwood
Service Provider
 
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:05 am
Full Name: Eliot Wood

Re: Warning - Does not fit into allowed limit?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Apr 20, 2016 11:31 am

Haven't seen that before, could be licensing-related, but you'd better ask support to look closer. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14560
Liked: 1060 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Warning - Does not fit into allowed limit?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Apr 20, 2016 11:33 am

Can you provide us with a screenshot of menu -> help -> license (clearing sensitive information of course)? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13075
Liked: 949 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Warning - Does not fit into allowed limit?

Veeam Logoby elwood » Wed Apr 20, 2016 12:03 pm

You may have hit the nail on the head, I'm about 20 VMs over my current license for one hypervisor type (I'm using a merged VMware/HyperV license).

So, if you're correct and the 'allowed limit' refers to license declarations, what has that job actually done? I says not processed, yet it's not a full failure? Is it snapshot only ?
elwood
Service Provider
 
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:05 am
Full Name: Eliot Wood

Re: Warning - Does not fit into allowed limit?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Apr 20, 2016 1:17 pm

And what type of license are you utilizing? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13075
Liked: 949 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Warning - Does not fit into allowed limit?

Veeam Logoby elwood » Wed Apr 20, 2016 1:33 pm

It's the rental license. Availability suite Ent+

Thanks,
elwood
Service Provider
 
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:05 am
Full Name: Eliot Wood

Re: Warning - Does not fit into allowed limit?

Veeam Logoby nefes » Wed Apr 20, 2016 2:30 pm

This warning means that you have protected more VMs that your license allow.
Since there are same VMs with new IDs, both of that IDs counts as protected, thus the warning.
For now it is just warning, not error, so your new VMs are still protected, but later this will effectively fail the job for such VMs.

To avoid this you need to go to License dialog and revoke licenses from "Old" VMs.
nefes
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 533
Liked: 124 times
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:44 am
Full Name: Nikita Efes

Re: Warning - Does not fit into allowed limit?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Apr 20, 2016 4:09 pm

The rental license should allow you to process up to 20% VMs or 20 VMs (whichever is greater) over the license count for the duration of two months. This period is called a grace period. And that's what you're probably seeing at the moment. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13075
Liked: 949 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Warning - Does not fit into allowed limit?

Veeam Logoby stefanbrun » Tue Apr 25, 2017 7:25 am

Case # 02137021

I have the same issue, License is a Service Provider Lic.
Checked if there is an over consumption of the License, but there was 30% free.
After first check i revoked all VMs. Tried to backup once more, but the same error.

After that i opened a case.
stefanbrun
Service Provider
 
Posts: 20
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:36 am
Location: Lengnau, Switzerland
Full Name: Stefan Brun | MSupport Networks AG

Re: Warning - Does not fit into allowed limit?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Apr 25, 2017 10:44 am

Might be a wild guess, but aren't you in post-grace stage by any chance?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13075
Liked: 949 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: adapterer and 25 guests