Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
TGacs
Enthusiast
Liked: 8 times

Weekly Backup Copy to Removable RDX disks?

Post by TGacs »

Hyper-V 2016 environment with VBR 9.5 Update1
- Main repo: local JBOD on VBR server
- Copy repo: RDX Quikstation 8 via iSCSI with 2 x (4 RDX cartridges configured as a logical drive) = 2 logical drives marked as "backed by rotated hard drives".

I'm still new to Veeam, and trying to configure the following:
- Daily scheduled backups to main repo with synthetic full backup on Sunday.
- Weekly full backup copies over weekend to RDX removable cartridges (inserted on Friday afternoon) for removal to offsite on following Monday.

Daily backups successful.
Backup Copy successful when run manually.

Q1: How do I get the Backup Copy job to fire on the weekend so that it will provide full backups for offsite? My concern is that if I set it to Backup Copy schedule of once/day, then the RDX volume may fill up due to incrementals on Friday & Saturday, and not have space for backup of any changed data on Sunday.

Q2: If the RDX cartridges are not present Monday-Thurs (since I want all offsite backup sets to stay offsite as much as possible), will the Backup Copy job error out, or just wait for cartridge insertion on Friday?

FYI - I might be stuck in my old Backup Exec mindset, where the duplicate-to-RDX job is linked to fire as soon as the weekly full backup completes on Sunday.
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2258 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Weekly Backup Copy to Removable RDX disks?

Post by veremin »

Q1: How do I get the Backup Copy job to fire on the weekend so that it will provide full backups for offsite? My concern is that if I set it to Backup Copy schedule of once/day, then the RDX volume may fill up due to incrementals on Friday & Saturday, and not have space for backup of any changed data on Sunday.