Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
ady_td
Influencer
Liked: never

Weekly Backup

Post by ady_td »

I have veeam install ed on a Windows 2003 server running one backup job with 3 servers in it.
i want ot run a full backup on a sunday then run incremental on mon/Tur/Wed/Thu/Fri/ Sat/, then run a full again on the Sunday and start all over again with the job, so it removes any of the previous weeks full or incrementals.

i setup a job to run all week selecting in the advance option to run a full on Sunday, it completed this full but still left the older backups.

Question:

1. are the incremetals following the second Sunday full backup changes since that backup or the previous first Sunday backup ?
2. if I delete the first weeks files from just with Windows explorer, what effect will this make on veeam backup itself.

any help people, I am new to this software solution.

cheers Ady
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Weekley Backup

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Ady,

1. Could you tell us how have you configured the retention policy for your jobs? Each incremental job run after the second Sunday, will insert the changes to the second Sunday VBK file.

You may look through existing topic about Full backups, that might be useful:
What is best way to do full backup monthly?

2. If you delete the rollbacks (VRB files) manually, this won't affect the last state of the backup, but you'll see deleted restore points to be available in the SQL configuration database while using Restore Wizard.

So I would recommend you to perform this kind of tasks by adjusting retention policy in the advanced job settings and reducing the number of restore points to keep. This will let Veeam Backup remove unnecessary points automatically on the next job run.

Thank you!
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6648 times

Post by Gostev »

Here is the good recent thread about backup chains:
delete onse savepoint in a backup job