What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup server?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

[MERGED] So how do i backup a physical unit using B&R 9.5 U2

Veeam Logoby rborhara » Mon Jun 26, 2017 2:05 pm

So ive upgraded my Physical Server that run B&R to 9.65 update 2. i also have 2 Virtual Veeam Proxys and all is running ok when backing up ESXI Vm's

Rather than me physicall install the windows agent v2.0 onto a Physical server (i have a test vM with the agent deployed) i pretend this is a Physical box i want to backup using the Backup & replication console which im sure i read is possible

But how do i detect a physical server or is the config all done on the physical servers somehow to point to the Veeam master console
rborhara
Influencer
 
Posts: 21
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 1:07 pm
Full Name: rakesh borhara

Re: So how do i backup a physical unit using B&R 9.5 U2

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Mon Jun 26, 2017 2:24 pm

You can use the Veeam Agent for Windows to make a full backup of the server. Keep in mind that VBR does Backup Configuration as well on a repository which you can always import if you rebuild the VBR server.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1631
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

[MERGED] "best practice" for Veeam B&R sql database server

Veeam Logoby piotr.malek » Thu Sep 28, 2017 9:52 am

Hello All

I have a question about "best practice" for Veeam B&R sql database server.

In my case B&R stands on bare metal. I moved B&R databese sql (because now it has 28 GB) on other server VM which is backuped by B&R.

And now I have question is that possible to recover that VM when it's broken and I don't have access to that database.

Please advise me how I should configure that environment...

I hope that I explained that situation clearly :)
piotr.malek
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 2:04 pm
Full Name: Piotr Malek

Re: "best practice" for Veeam B&R sql database server

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Thu Sep 28, 2017 2:17 pm

Hi Piotr,

You can protect the configuration database by built-in function called "Configuration backup" accessible in the UI of the Veeam B&R.
In your case with a dedicated VM for SQL, you will have a few more steps before you can start VBR with the database from backup.
Please review this thread for additional information. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 621
Liked: 72 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby piotr.malek » Fri Sep 29, 2017 8:24 am

Hi

I think you didn't understand me...
I'm asking about situation when broke down is VM with SQL server with database of veeam B&R. And that vm is backuped up by B&R.
Question is Can I use B&R somehow?

P.S. Of course I'm using "Configuration backup"

Maybe in other words:

Disaster plan:

1) B&R stands on bare metal server
2) SQL server is virtual machine and contains database of B&R
3) VM SQL server is broken
4) Can I recover VM SQL using B&R (theoretically without his SQL base, I have configuration backup)
piotr.malek
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 2:04 pm
Full Name: Piotr Malek

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby tdewin » Fri Sep 29, 2017 9:24 am

Sure you can do a clean install and do a configuration import.

Or you can do a clean temporary install on for example your laptop or another machine, import the backup, and execute a restore of the SQL DB. You don't need the configuration to execute a restore
tdewin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1108
Liked: 390 times
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
Full Name: Timothy Dewin

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby foggy » Sun Oct 01, 2017 10:01 pm

You can also use a standalone extract.exe utility without even the need to install Veeam B&R.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15290
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby piotr.malek » Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:29 am

thanks for answers :)
piotr.malek
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 2:04 pm
Full Name: Piotr Malek

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby mensa » Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:37 am

Hello,

what's the current correct way to backup the VM where Veeam Backup & Replication is running?
I know the Configuration backup, but I would like to make additionally a backup of the whole VM. Is this possible and what (settings) have to be considered?

vCenter: 6.5
Everything of Veeam B&R is running in one single VM.
Only drive C: (40GB) attached in VM.
mensa
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 3:10 pm

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Nov 06, 2017 3:14 pm

Hello mensa,
Just create a regular backup job with VBR server VM.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5141
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby mkaec » Mon Nov 06, 2017 3:39 pm

There's a lot of recommendations to just backup the configuration and then load that into a fresh install after a disaster. I don't know about VMware, but on Hyper-V waiting 15-60 minutes for Windows to install isn't going to help meet RTO objectives.

I do backup the configuration just to have it. But, my Veeam server is itself a VM and I took the route of using a replication job to get a copy of it onto another host.
mkaec
Expert
 
Posts: 194
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:31 pm
Full Name: Marc K

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby hoFFy » Mon Nov 06, 2017 3:50 pm 1 person likes this post

If you don't have a second host to replicate, you could backup the Veeam VM with VBR or with Veeam Agent for Windows.
When using VBR to backup the Veeam VM itself keep in mind that restoring Veeam without Veeam sounds curious, but it is possible in the case of desaster:
I wrote a german blog post about it https://machinewithoutbrain.de/eine-vm- ... erstellen/ but the manual also explains how to work with VBK files, wihtout having a Veeam server: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

This way it is possible to extract the Veeam VM from your backup and upload the necessary files to your hypervisor, register the VM, boot, and do the rest of the desaster recovery.
VMCE 7 / 8 / 9, VCP-DC 5 / 5.5 / 6, MCITP:SA
Blog: machinewithoutbrain.de
hoFFy
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 163
Liked: 26 times
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 1:10 pm
Location: Germany / Lohne
Full Name: Sebastian Hoffmann

Previous

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], tdewin and 1 guest