Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
christiankelly
Service Provider
Posts: 116
Liked: 7 times
Joined: May 06, 2012 6:22 pm
Full Name: Christian Kelly
Contact:

What method does Veeam use for re-IPing?

Post by christiankelly » May 06, 2012 6:25 pm

Is there a white paper on how Veeam re-ips servers? It seems like it would be different from Windows to Linux unless VMware/Hyper-V have APIs for changing address but I don’t think so.

Does anyone know the method of how it’s done and how reliable it is?

Thanks,

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24431
Liked: 3405 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: What method does Veeam use for re-IPing?

Post by Gostev » May 06, 2012 8:42 pm

Hi Christian, and welcome to our forums.

Re-IP addressing is only supported for Windows VMs at this time, so Linux is out of question. We do not use hypervisor APIs to perform Re-IP, but rather proprietary code. Actual process is performed by modifying the required Windows registry values right in the replica's VMDK (VHD). Everything is done automatically as a part of failover process, so you don't have to worry about it (truly 1-click failover). All IP settings modifications are applied right before the VM is actually started.

The process shares the engine with, and so as reliable as our instant file level recovery - which we had since v1, so obviously the engine is quite polished. Essentially, if you can perform FLR from a VM, then you can Re-IP it. The only thing our Windows FLR does not support today is dynamic disks.

Thanks!

christiankelly
Service Provider
Posts: 116
Liked: 7 times
Joined: May 06, 2012 6:22 pm
Full Name: Christian Kelly
Contact:

Re: What method does Veeam use for re-IPing?

Post by christiankelly » May 06, 2012 8:49 pm

Thanks very helpful. So if a servers hard disks are dynamic disks then re-IPing wouldn't work, but other than that it should work for any Windows server 2003 and higher?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24431
Liked: 3405 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: What method does Veeam use for re-IPing?

Post by Gostev » May 06, 2012 9:03 pm

Correct.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 32 guests