Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
danm190
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 06, 2012 4:22 am
Full Name: Daniel Moody
Contact:

Why can't we just delete VEEAM snapshots?

Post by danm190 » Sep 01, 2012 1:18 am

I seem to have a few older snapshots? How can I free up the disk space? Will a full veeam backup clear them out? Can I just manually delete them?

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5377
Liked: 2211 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Why can't we just delete VEEAM snapshots?

Post by tsightler » Sep 01, 2012 2:31 am

Do you mean Veeam restore points/backups? Snapshots are on VMware.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22759
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Why can't we just delete VEEAM snapshots?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 01, 2012 5:52 pm

If you're referring to restore points, then you control the number of available points via backup job retention policy settings.

averylarry
Expert
Posts: 261
Liked: 28 times
Joined: Mar 22, 2011 7:43 pm
Full Name: Ted
Contact:

Re: Why can't we just delete VEEAM snapshots?

Post by averylarry » Sep 06, 2012 5:02 pm

Every once in a while I'll get a "stranded" snapshot (usually when Veeam crashes during a job and I have to hard reboot). Even more rarely I'll get a "hidden" snapshop where even the VMware client doesn't see the snapshot but you can see it if you look directly on the datastore.

(I'm assuming you're not talking about a replica VM -- rather a production VM.)

If you're not currently running any Veeam jobs against a production VM, and you don't have any manual snapshots, then I recommend "delete all" in the snapshot manager.

In the case of a "hidden" snapshot, you actually have to manually create a snapshot first and then you can do a "delete all" in hte snapshot manager.

***Make sure you understand/know what you're doing before using the "delete all" on a production VM.***

dsimpkins
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 12, 2012 3:12 am
Full Name: Daniel
Contact:

[MERGED] left over snapshots

Post by dsimpkins » Oct 01, 2012 7:06 am 1 person likes this post

Hi there,

Based on the latest forum digest email this morning from Anton, i've downloaded and installed the free Veeam One software. The walkthrough from Rick's blog was perfect, and im up and running.
Because of Veeam One, i've seen a lot of errors and the one in particular im interested in is aged snapshots. I use Veeam Backup, and it appears that it isn't removing the snapshots it creates properly.

Anyway, the simple question I have is: can I remove the snapshots that say "Please do not delete this snapshot. It is being used by Veeam Backup.", when the backup job is not running but in fact is idle? Or are these snapshots required even after the job is complete? If not, im going to go through and delete all of them!

Thanks
Daniel

dsimpkins
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 12, 2012 3:12 am
Full Name: Daniel
Contact:

Re: left over snapshots

Post by dsimpkins » Oct 01, 2012 7:09 am

I should also mention, i did a bit of a search and related posts seemed to be as per below, but before I went deleting things, i thought i'd get a more definitive answer!
thanks

http://forums.veeam.com/viewtopic.php?f ... ver#p46391
http://forums.veeam.com/viewtopic.php?f ... ver#p22203

D

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18026
Liked: 1531 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Why can't we just delete VEEAM snapshots?

Post by foggy » Oct 01, 2012 1:09 pm

Daniel, you can safely remove these snapshot via vSphere Client manually.

dsimpkins
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 12, 2012 3:12 am
Full Name: Daniel
Contact:

Re: Why can't we just delete VEEAM snapshots?

Post by dsimpkins » Oct 01, 2012 8:49 pm

Thanks Alex. As always, appreciate the help from the Veeam forums.

Jamie Pert
Enthusiast
Posts: 68
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2012 10:56 am
Full Name: Jamie Pert
Location: twitter.com/jam1epert
Contact:

Re: Why can't we just delete VEEAM snapshots?

Post by Jamie Pert » Oct 02, 2012 11:05 am

we've noticed that at times on some servers when manually clearing out snapshots of Exchange servers the server will lose connectivity when removing the snapshot...
@jam1epert on Twitter

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22759
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Why can't we just delete VEEAM snapshots?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 02, 2012 12:44 pm

Hi Jamie,

Yes, this behavior might be expected due to the nature VMware snapshot removal technique, see this topic for further reading: Snapshot removal issues of a large VM

Thank you.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: M.Lewis and 33 guests